Switch Theme:

Infernum pattern Razorbacks and GSF?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine





Illinois

I was scanning through 1d4 chan in their Space Marine tactics section and noticed that someone had mentioned according to the Gladius Strike Force's RAW you could take free Infernum Razorbacks. Not that I consider everything in their tactics to be 40k gospel by any means but would this even be possible?

I would say probably not, but wanted to see what there's had to say.
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





I don't have any of the rules in question in front of me but to my understanding is that Infernum Razorbacks are just another dedicated transport for SMs to take and since Gladius just lets you take dedicated transports for free i don't see why that wouldn't work.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/11/28 13:06:59


 
   
Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine





Illinois

 CrownAxe wrote:
I don't have any of the rules in question in front of me but to my understanding is that Infernum Razorbacks are just another dedicated transport for SMs to take and since Gladius just lets you take dedicated transports for free i don't see why that wouldn't work.


The rules for GSF state that any unit that can take a Drop Pod, Rhino, or Razorback as a dedicated transport may do so for free. Paying the points as normal for any vehicle upgrades or upgrades to the vehicle's weapons.
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






If you're allowing ForgeWorld units then I don't see why it wouldn't.
   
Made in pl
Regular Dakkanaut






GSF rule say that you can take free "Drop Pod, Rhino or Razorback".

I don't have FW rulebook but isn't "Infernum Razorback" unit name/type/entry different than "Razorback"?
Just like you are not allowed to swap "Land Speeder" with "Land Speeder Storm" or "Land Speeder Darkwind"?
So since it isn't strictly mentioned in GSF you are not allowed to take it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/11/28 15:07:58


   
Made in nl
Lord of the Fleet






 danyboy wrote:
GSF rule say that you can take free "Drop Pod, Rhino or Razorback".

I don't have FW rulebook but isn't "Infernum Razorback" unit name/type/entry different than "Razorback"?
Just like you are not allowed to swap "Land Speeder" with "Land Speeder Storm" or "Land Speeder Darkwind"?
So since it isn't strictly mentioned in GSF you are not allowed to take it.


I've just pulled IA2 2nd out and I think you're correct. 1st ed had the multimelta turret as an option for a razorback - 2nd ed has it as a separate entry.

However, just to add a little ambiguity it does say "may be taken by any unit that may take a razorback as a dedicated transport".
   
Made in us
Angelic Adepta Sororitas





I think the way it's written, you could not take them legally. Now, I'm sure most opponents wouldn't mind seeing less tlac on the table and may allow it... But not sure if tournaments would be ok with it.

   
Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine





Illinois

Yeah, since they are technically a separate entry I would lean toward saying it's not strictly legal.

However, I may end up asking opponents in a casual game if this is chill with them if I take these in a GSF. I'd be perfectly happy to pay the 10 point difference between them and a regular Razorback. Kind of silly that you can't take a MM as a turret option on a regular Razorback IMHO.
   
Made in us
Angelic Adepta Sororitas





I want the flamestorm Cannon as an option...... Yessssss
   
Made in us
Tunneling Trygon






Can I take a Deimos Predator instead of a Predator in Armoured Spearhead? Can I take a Contemptor Mortis instead of a Dreadnought in a Demi-Company? Can I take Captain Sumatris in a Demi-Company? If the answer in your gaming group is no to any of these, then no, you can't take Infernum Razorbacks either. Some groups play fast and loose with restrictions but RAW gives you a very clear list of things. Forge World is not on the list.
   
Made in us
Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Sioux Falls, SD

 SharkoutofWata wrote:
Can I take a Deimos Predator instead of a Predator in Armoured Spearhead? Can I take a Contemptor Mortis instead of a Dreadnought in a Demi-Company? Can I take Captain Sumatris in a Demi-Company? If the answer in your gaming group is no to any of these, then no, you can't take Infernum Razorbacks either. Some groups play fast and loose with restrictions but RAW gives you a very clear list of things. Forge World is not on the list.
There has been talk about an FAQ coming out from FW that will allow such things, but until then, I wouldn't allow it. For example, Honour Guard can take a Land Raider as a DT. That doesn't mean I can take a LRC, LRR, or LR Achilles. It means I can take a Land Raider.

5250 pts
3850 pts
Deathwatch: 1500 pts
Imperial Knights: 375 pts
30K 2500 pts 
   
Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine





Illinois

I think you could take the Infernum Razorbacks in a GSF as a dedicated transport but legally you wouldn't get it for free. You would still have to pay its normal points.
   
Made in us
Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Sioux Falls, SD

 bomtek80 wrote:
I think you could take the Infernum Razorbacks in a GSF as a dedicated transport but legally you wouldn't get it for free. You would still have to pay its normal points.
That would be the case if it was an upgrade for the Razorback like TL Lascannons. But the Infernum Pattern Razorback is its own model with separate rules.

5250 pts
3850 pts
Deathwatch: 1500 pts
Imperial Knights: 375 pts
30K 2500 pts 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 casvalremdeikun wrote:
 bomtek80 wrote:
I think you could take the Infernum Razorbacks in a GSF as a dedicated transport but legally you wouldn't get it for free. You would still have to pay its normal points.
That would be the case if it was an upgrade for the Razorback like TL Lascannons. But the Infernum Pattern Razorback is its own model with separate rules.

Umm, I think you missed what he said. It would be the same case as a unit taking a Land Raider Dedicated Transport, you would still have to pay its normal points, but you could still take it.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Sioux Falls, SD

Charistoph wrote:
 casvalremdeikun wrote:
 bomtek80 wrote:
I think you could take the Infernum Razorbacks in a GSF as a dedicated transport but legally you wouldn't get it for free. You would still have to pay its normal points.
That would be the case if it was an upgrade for the Razorback like TL Lascannons. But the Infernum Pattern Razorback is its own model with separate rules.

Umm, I think you missed what he said. It would be the same case as a unit taking a Land Raider Dedicated Transport, you would still have to pay its normal points, but you could still take it.
in that case, yes.

5250 pts
3850 pts
Deathwatch: 1500 pts
Imperial Knights: 375 pts
30K 2500 pts 
   
Made in us
Ollanius Pius - Savior of the Emperor






Gathering the Informations.

 casvalremdeikun wrote:
 SharkoutofWata wrote:
Can I take a Deimos Predator instead of a Predator in Armoured Spearhead? Can I take a Contemptor Mortis instead of a Dreadnought in a Demi-Company? Can I take Captain Sumatris in a Demi-Company? If the answer in your gaming group is no to any of these, then no, you can't take Infernum Razorbacks either. Some groups play fast and loose with restrictions but RAW gives you a very clear list of things. Forge World is not on the list.
There has been talk about an FAQ coming out from FW that will allow such things, but until then, I wouldn't allow it. For example, Honour Guard can take a Land Raider as a DT. That doesn't mean I can take a LRC, LRR, or LR Achilles. It means I can take a Land Raider.

You can't do that anyways because Honor Guard aren't part of the "Battle Company".
Honor Guards are part of a "Strike Force Command". The free Dedicated Transports apply to units from your two Battle Demi-Companies and ONLY to them.
   
Made in us
Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Sioux Falls, SD

 Kanluwen wrote:
 casvalremdeikun wrote:
 SharkoutofWata wrote:
Can I take a Deimos Predator instead of a Predator in Armoured Spearhead? Can I take a Contemptor Mortis instead of a Dreadnought in a Demi-Company? Can I take Captain Sumatris in a Demi-Company? If the answer in your gaming group is no to any of these, then no, you can't take Infernum Razorbacks either. Some groups play fast and loose with restrictions but RAW gives you a very clear list of things. Forge World is not on the list.
There has been talk about an FAQ coming out from FW that will allow such things, but until then, I wouldn't allow it. For example, Honour Guard can take a Land Raider as a DT. That doesn't mean I can take a LRC, LRR, or LR Achilles. It means I can take a Land Raider.

You can't do that anyways because Honor Guard aren't part of the "Battle Company".
Honor Guards are part of a "Strike Force Command". The free Dedicated Transports apply to units from your two Battle Demi-Companies and ONLY to them.
My statement had nothing to do with the BDC. Honour Guard can't take a LRC or LRR as a DT, Period.

5250 pts
3850 pts
Deathwatch: 1500 pts
Imperial Knights: 375 pts
30K 2500 pts 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: