Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
Times and dates in your local timezone.
Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.
Answer: Being placed in reserves isn't deploying, but arriving from reserves is, so you can't place a unit in reserves inside another unit's dedicated transport.
"Arriving from Reserve:
... When Reserves arrive, pick one of your arriving units and deploy it, moving it onto the table as described below."
-BRB Page 135
Original Question: If unit A takes a dedicated transport, and I decide to deploy unit A, but reserve it's transport, can I put unit B in that transport in reserves?
For Example. I take a Trukk with a unit of Boyz as a dedicated transport. I decide to deploy the boyz, but leave the Trukk in reserves. Can I put a unit of Gretchin inside it in reserves?
The pertinent rules:
Spoiler:
"Deployment:
...models must either deploy within their deployment zone, or be held back in Reserve Models can be deployed 'inside' buildings, fortifications, or Transport vehicles in their deployment zone, subject to their Transport Capacity. Units may not be deployed in impassable terrain. Note that models must be deployed fully within their deployment zone: you can't have part of a model inside the deployment zone and part of the model outside it!"
- BRB Page 132
"Preparing Reserves:
When deploying their armies, players can choose not to deploy some of their units, keeping them as Reserves to arrive later...."
-BRB Page 135
"Combined Reserve Units:
During Deployment, when deciding which units are kept as Reserves, you must specify if any of the Independent Characters in Reserve are joining a unit, in which case they must arrive together. Similarly, you must specify if any units in Reserve are embarked upon any Transport vehicles in Reserve, in which case they will arrive together. In either case, when making a Reserve Roll for a combined unit, roll a single dice for the unit and/or its Independent Character/Transport vehicle"
-BRB Page 135
"Dedicated Transports
...The Only limitation of a Dedicated Transport is that when it is deployed, it can only carry the unit it was selected with (plus any Independent Characters that have joined it). After the game begins, it can then transport any friendly Infantry unit, subject to the Transport Capacity and other special exclusions, as explained in the vehicle's entry."
-BRB Page 82
It seems fairly cut and dry to me. Holding a unit in reserves is not deployment, so yes, you can used the "Combined Reserve Units" rule to embark a unit in reserves onto another unit's dedicated transport. Am I reading it wrong?
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/12/09 20:17:37
If holding a unit in reserves is explicitly not "deploying", then it should be perfectly fine.
I am the Hammer. I am the right hand of my Emperor. I am the tip of His spear, I am the gauntlet about His fist. I am the woes of daemonkind. I am the Hammer.
I think you're reading it wrong. The 4th quote explains why:
"Dedicated Transports
...The Only limitation of a Dedicated Transport is that when it is deployed, it can only carry the unit it was selected with (plus any Independent Characters that have joined it). After the game begins, it can then transport any friendly Infantry unit, subject to the Transport Capacity and other special exclusions, as explained in the vehicle's entry."
-BRB Page 82
Are the Gretchin the unit that selected the dedicated transport? No. Are they IC's? No. So no, you cannot put the Gretchin inside of the transport. After the game begins, then any friendly unit can use the transport.
If you had a house rule that lets you sub them in, that's different. But I think RAW no, you can't.
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/12/09 19:33:44
Cleatus wrote: I think you're reading it wrong. The 4th quote explains why:
"Dedicated Transports
...The Only limitation of a Dedicated Transport is that when it is deployed, it can only carry the unit it was selected with (plus any Independent Characters that have joined it). After the game begins, it can then transport any friendly Infantry unit, subject to the Transport Capacity and other special exclusions, as explained in the vehicle's entry."
-BRB Page 82
Are the Gretchin the unit that selected the dedicated transport? No. Are they IC's? No. So no, you cannot put the Gretchin inside of the transport. After the game begins, then any friendly unit can use the transport.
If you had a house rule that lets you sub them in, that's different. But I think RAW no, you can't.
It specifies "when it is deployed", and the Trukk isn't getting deployed but is instead "held in reserves". Explain to me why those are the same thing.
DarkLink wrote: If holding a unit in reserves is explicitly not "deploying", then it should be perfectly fine.
Being put in Reserves is not "deploying", but Arriving From Reserves is. So no unit* can be riding it but what it was bought with before the game starts, even in Reserves.
*ICs ignore this if they are joined to the dedicated unit as they have explicit permission and part of the unit they joined.
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
DarkLink wrote: If holding a unit in reserves is explicitly not "deploying", then it should be perfectly fine.
Being put in Reserves is not "deploying", but Arriving From Reserves is. So no unit* can be riding it but what it was bought with before the game starts, even in Reserves.
*ICs ignore this if they are joined to the dedicated unit as they have explicit permission and part of the unit they joined.
You are correct:
"Arriving from Reserve:
... When Reserves arrive, pick one of your arriving units and deploy it, moving it onto the table as described below."
-BRB Page 135
Whether 'held in reserves' or placed on the table, the unit has been deployed (helpful to think of it as 'deployed onto the table' or 'deployed into reserves'). So, no, you cannot deploy a different unit into that dedicated transport.
DCannon4Life wrote: Whether 'held in reserves' or placed on the table, the unit has been deployed (helpful to think of it as 'deployed onto the table' or 'deployed into reserves'). So, no, you cannot deploy a different unit into that dedicated transport.
Being held in Reserves is NOT deployed.
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
If a non-dedicated transport were purchased, then a unit could be deployed inside the transport. The transport would take up a slot on the force org chart (Fast, Heavy, etc.), but it could be done. Hello, Grots in a Looted Wagon!