Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/12/16 21:42:00
Subject: Double one
|
 |
Potent Possessed Daemonvessel
Why Aye Ya Canny Dakkanaughts!
|
In almost every situation in 40k a 1 or a double 1 means an automatic failure right?
Is this the case for charging?
I played a guy who had a wraithknight yesterday, his knight moved within 2 inches of my chaos knight but then he rolled a double 1. The rule book says you fail when charging through terrain but nothing about regular charges. I just wanted to clarify because it seems strange that this isn't a fail.
|
Ghorros wrote:The moral of the story: Don't park your Imperial Knight in a field of Gretchin carrying power tools.
Marmatag wrote:All the while, my opponent is furious, throwing his codex on the floor, trying to slash his wrists with safety scissors. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/12/16 21:45:10
Subject: Double one
|
 |
Tzeentch Veteran Marine with Psychic Potential
|
No, a roll of double one in charge range is a result of 2. It's different because the dice are added together to get a result.
Similarly with leadership, a roll of double 1 is actually a good thing. The rule (a roll of 1 always fails) is clarifying that you can't have a save better than 2+, or a to - wound or to - hit roll.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/12/16 21:46:47
7500 pts Chaos Daemons |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/12/16 21:51:15
Subject: Double one
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
There is no universal rule that a roll of a one always fails. Any such rule is for the specific situation that the rule applies to (e.g., armour saves).
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/12/16 21:51:23
Subject: Double one
|
 |
Ultramarine Master with Gauntlets of Macragge
What's left of Cadia
|
A double one on a charge range means you charge 2 inches.
|
TheEyeOfNight- I swear, this thread is 70% smack talk, 20% RP organization, and 10% butt jokes
TheEyeOfNight- "Ordo Xenos reports that the Necrons have attained democracy, kamikaze tendencies, and nuclear fission. It's all tits up, sir."
Space Marine flyers are shaped for the greatest possible air resistance so that the air may never defeat the SPACE MARINES!
Sternguard though, those guys are all about kicking ass. They'd chew bubble gum as well, but bubble gum is heretical. Only tau chew gum
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/12/16 21:52:07
Subject: Double one
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
mrhappyface wrote:In almost every situation in 40k a 1 or a double 1 means an automatic failure right?
Is this the case for charging?
I played a guy who had a wraithknight yesterday, his knight moved within 2 inches of my chaos knight but then he rolled a double 1. The rule book says you fail when charging through terrain but nothing about regular charges. I just wanted to clarify because it seems strange that this isn't a fail.
No, the only time when a roll of a 1 is automatic failure is saves, hits, and to wound. Characteristic tests auto fail if they have no characteristic to test and if they do then 1's pass the test. A double 1 on leadership is an auto pass regardless of modifiers and is what is needed to regroup under 25%, and a double 1 on scatter is the best you can roll outside of getting a direct hit.
So if his wraithknight is 2 inches away from his target the wriathknight cannot fail the charge because with MTC he ignores the -2 to the charge distance which means that your opponent was right.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/12/16 21:52:43
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/12/17 01:10:09
Subject: Double one
|
 |
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord
|
As far as I know, To Hit Rolls of 1, To Wound Rolls of 1 and Armor Save Rolls of 1 are all fails regardless of modifiers, but those allow rerolls and I don't know if there are actually any existing modifiers beyond giving a set dice roll or bonuses to the statistic. The only instance I can recall where the actual dice roll (the result you get) is modified is with Feel No Pain, which if you get ridiculously lucky with warlord traits and spells can result in a 1+ Feel No Pain (or specifically, a FNP that adds +4 to the result).
For Charges, you still charge the 2 inches if you can make it. it's only a fail if the unit is outside of 2 inches.
|
Gwar! wrote:Huh, I had no idea Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines posted on Dakka. Hi Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines!!!!!!!!!!!!! Can I have an Autograph!
Kanluwen wrote:
Hell, I'm not that bothered by the Stormraven. Why? Because, as it stands right now, it's "limited use".When it's shoehorned in to the Codex: Space Marines, then yeah. I'll be irked.
When I'm editing alot, you know I have a gakload of homework to (not) do. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/12/17 02:20:14
Subject: Double one
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
And then there are Leadership Tests which always pass on double 1's.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
|