Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/12/29 19:31:23
Subject: Librarius Conclave
|
 |
Guardsman with Flashlight
Edmonton, AB
|
Librarius Conclave Formation question. (references at end)
IF a librarian, who contributed to empyric channeling, is in a separate unit from the Librarian who manifested powers from other librarians can he manifest powers at anytime during that psychic phase?
My argument against is that the Psychic Phase ends when there are 0 warp charge remaining OR you choose not to manifest any more powers.
My argument for is the rules for start and end of phase in the rulebook and the wording of empyric channeling.
Both of which support the other librarians maifesting powers, or the same powers if they re in a different unit.
Rulebook, Page 17, First Column, Para 2.
-Start and End of a Phase
Rulebook, Page 24, First Column, Para 5.
-[end of psychic phase]
Codex: Adeptus Astartes Space Marines, Page 183.
-Empyric Channeling.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/12/29 20:47:13
Subject: Librarius Conclave
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
The problem is you cannot cast with the other Librarians until the end of the psychic phase. You are not at the end of the psychic phase until either you run out of Warp Charges or decide to no longer cast powers.
In other words, they cannot cast powers until you are no longer able to cast powers (that turn).
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/12/30 07:13:30
Subject: Librarius Conclave
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Let me better understand what you are asking.
Librarian A is nominated Librarians B and C are within 12". You are asking if B or C can manifest correct?
If that is the question; then no. This is because of the first referenced brb passage: start and end of phases are specific sections of a phase where specific things happen. At the start of the psychic phase you may choose to nominate a librarian, this must happen before you use any of the rules for during the psychic phase(manifesting any powers). Librarians B and C cannot manifest until the end of the phase, which is after you are allowed to use the rules for during the psychic phase(again manifesting). The phrasing is just letting you know that they return to having the ability to manifest at the end of the phase, but you still cannot manifest that phase.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/12/30 16:18:13
Subject: Librarius Conclave
|
 |
Slippery Ultramarine Scout Biker
|
The answer is no, but if one of the librarians is outside of 12" there is nothing stopping him from manifesting powers he knows. He will not receive any bonus, however, and cannot use empyric channeling
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/02 03:32:04
Subject: Librarius Conclave
|
 |
Angelic Adepta Sororitas
|
The Empiric Channeling rule is optional IIRC, so if you didn't choose to use that rule, any lib who isn't in a squad with another one could cast. But if you do use EC, only the one guy gets to cast, the othes in 12" dont.
It's a rule that could have been worded much better.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/05 12:08:51
Subject: Re:Librarius Conclave
|
 |
Crazed Spirit of the Defiler
|
IIRC the "end of the phase" is very well defined as the period AFTER everything else happens during a phase but BEFORE the next phase begins. Yes the psychic phase "ends" when there are no more warp charges or the player wishes to no longer cast any powers, but this is NOT the same as the defined term "end of the phase". So yes, the non-nominated psykers can cast stuff after the empyric channeling dude does his thing.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/05 12:18:02
Subject: Re:Librarius Conclave
|
 |
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot
|
Malathrim wrote:IIRC the "end of the phase" is very well defined as the period AFTER everything else happens during a phase but BEFORE the next phase begins. Yes the psychic phase "ends" when there are no more warp charges or the player wishes to no longer cast any powers, but this is NOT the same as the defined term "end of the phase". So yes, the non-nominated psykers can cast stuff after the empyric channeling dude does his thing.
the phase ends when there are no more warp charges or you declare you will not cast any more powers. if you do not meet either of these requirements, you cannot reach the end of the phase. if you fulfill either, you cannot cast any more powers
|
"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes...  " |
|
 |
 |
|