Switch Theme:

X-Wing: Multiple Target Locks  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick






Hey all, brief question: If one of my craft has multiple locks on a target, can I use multiple target locks in one turn to fire multiple torpedoes/other ordnance?

For example, if I run a TIE Punisher "Redline" and gain two target locks on an enemy craft, can I fire Cluster Missiles twice, once for each target lock? (in this case I have the Extra Ordnance upgrade as well giving my Cluster Missiles the extra shot.)

I ask this because earlier today in a game I did exactly what I specified above resulting in a total of 12 shots fired, it just seemed to be a little too powerful. Completely annihilated the enemy X-Wing. I've been looking through the rule book but can't seem to find anything regarding having multiple target locks.

You say Fiery Crash! I say Dynamic Entry!

*Increases Game Point Limit by 100*: Tau get two Crisis Suits and a Firewarrior. Imperial Guard get two infantry companies, artillery support, and APCs. 
   
Made in us
Douglas Bader






No. You can only make one attack per turn (unless a card explicitly grants you the opportunity to make extra attacks), which can be a primary weapon attack or a secondary weapon attack. Merely having a target lock on a ship does not create an opportunity to fire a weapon, it only fulfills the requirements of some secondary weapons once you have chosen to use them for your single attack of the turn. You can have a dozen target locks on every ship on the table and you will still only attack once, though you will have a nice selection of potential targets to choose from.

In the case of Redline the point of the ability is that you have one target lock to spend on firing a weapon and another one to spend on modifying dice for that weapon. So, for example, you can fire a cluster missile as your one attack for the turn, spending a target lock to do so. You roll poorly, so you spend the second target lock to re-roll dice and get better results. Once the cluster missile is done then your attack opportunity is over and you move on to the next ship (or end the turn).

There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. 
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick






That makes far more sense. Thank you much!

You say Fiery Crash! I say Dynamic Entry!

*Increases Game Point Limit by 100*: Tau get two Crisis Suits and a Firewarrior. Imperial Guard get two infantry companies, artillery support, and APCs. 
   
Made in gb
The Daemon Possessing Fulgrim's Body





Devon, UK

You only ever get one attack.

In the case of ships maintaining multiple TL on the same target, that means you can spend one to launch your ordnance and then one to reroll, should you choose/need to.

In the specific case of Cluster Missiles, you pay the cost (spend your target lock) and get to perform the attack twice, but that's still technically one attack.

Redline synergises well with Cluster Missiles and Fire Control System, as he gets the original pair of TL as an action, then spends one to launch the missiles, the second to reroll, then FCS kicks in as he has performed an attack. His pilot ability means he gains two TL once again, which means he can again modify the second attack, and after this attack resolves can use FCS once again, once more taking his TLs up to two for the next turn.

If he manages to keep the same target in arc, he then attacks again, but as he's not had to spend his action in the Activation Phase acquiring the target lock, he's free to Focus for even more potential damage.

Bit wordy, but there's lots of steps involved!

But, unless an upgrade card or pilot ability permits it (such as Dengar, Corran Horn, Gunner or Luke Skywalker crew) a ship only ever attacks once a turn.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Gah, ninja'd by Peregrine. But my reply was better.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/01/03 02:19:06


We find comfort among those who agree with us - growth among those who don't. - Frank Howard Clark

The wise man doubts often, and changes his mind; the fool is obstinate, and doubts not; he knows all things but his own ignorance.

The correct statement of individual rights is that everyone has the right to an opinion, but crucially, that opinion can be roundly ignored and even made fun of, particularly if it is demonstrably nonsense!” Professor Brian Cox

Ask me about
Barnstaple Slayers Club 
   
 
Forum Index » Atomic Mass Games (Star Wars & Marvel: Crisis Protocol)
Go to: