Switch Theme:

Misfortune psychic power and taser weapons- are the extra hits rending?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Guardsman with Flashlight




Idaho

So if you ally a psyker with skitarii and are able to cast misfortune on a unit ( a malediction that targets a single enemy unit within 24". Whilst the power is in effect, all attacks that hit the target unit have the rending special rule.) Then you are able to get into CC with the affected unit with a unit of skitarii that has taser goads or lances which have the taser rule (when making an attack with a weapon that has this special rule, a to hit of 6 causes 2 additional hits on the target.) Do the additional hits gain rending? My gut feeling on this is no because the 2 extra hits did not have a dice rolled for them therefore no 6 was rolled for rending to take affect. Yet at the same time I'm conflicted because the 2 extra hits are directly the result of the first 6 rolled. I'm curious to get some more opinions on the matter.
   
Made in au
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

Rending relies on To Wound rolls. Taser Goads rely on To Hit rolls.
   
Made in us
Guardsman with Flashlight




Idaho

Well that was a long post about nothing then! Haha
   
Made in us
Tough Tyrant Guard





True, Taser activates on 'to hit', but Radium weapons activate on 'to wound'. Suddenly your 10 man basic vanguard squad is erasing -anything- with a T value.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Just to note: yes both tazer hits on the 6 to-hit would have the rending special rule.

So eaxh to-wound of 6 for all the hits would get the rending effect.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in za
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle





South Africa

Yowzers this would hurt a squad of termies badly haha

Facts are chains that bind perception and fetter truth. For a man can remake the world if he has a dream and no facts to cloud his mind. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: