Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/10 03:46:41
Subject: Confused with the rule of shrouded.
|
 |
Bloodthirsty Bloodletter
Merchantville NJ
|
So it says even in the open I get a 5 plus cover save.
It also says cover saves as being 2 points better.
So is the 5 in open really a 3+?
And also what if I use the fire sheild from the Pyromancy psychic power of fire shield that gives a 4 + cover save?
Would that be a 2+?
Just started playing and I play daemons,.so would like to know the rulings.
Thank you.
The noob
|
8+ trade Looking to do more !!
TJ
5000 PTS
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/10 03:49:07
Subject: Confused with the rule of shrouded.
|
 |
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord
|
Only one of the effect applies.
If you would have a Cover Save, that Cover save gets +2 to it.
If you don't have a cover save of any kind, you have a 5+ Cover Save. This is because "no cover save" with +2 to it would be a 5+ cover save.
And if you can get a 4+ cover save from something else, yes it does become a 2+ cover save.
|
Gwar! wrote:Huh, I had no idea Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines posted on Dakka. Hi Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines!!!!!!!!!!!!! Can I have an Autograph!
Kanluwen wrote:
Hell, I'm not that bothered by the Stormraven. Why? Because, as it stands right now, it's "limited use".When it's shoehorned in to the Codex: Space Marines, then yeah. I'll be irked.
When I'm editing alot, you know I have a gakload of homework to (not) do. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/10 03:52:41
Subject: Confused with the rule of shrouded.
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Shrouded telling you that you have 5+ in the open is just it doing the math for you (since the jump from +2 to nothing equaling 5+ is not obvious).
Its only +2 to cover ever. So yes +2 to a 4+ cover save would be a 2+ cover save.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/10 04:00:35
Subject: Confused with the rule of shrouded.
|
 |
Bloodthirsty Bloodletter
Merchantville NJ
|
Ok so if cast the psychic power fire shield ( gives my unit a 4+ cover save even in the open) with shrouded special rule give me 2+ plus save?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/01/10 04:05:57
8+ trade Looking to do more !!
TJ
5000 PTS
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/10 04:01:06
Subject: Confused with the rule of shrouded.
|
 |
Shrieking Traitor Sentinel Pilot
|
Of note, it also stacks with stealth.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/10 04:05:57
Subject: Confused with the rule of shrouded.
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
SpacePup1987 wrote:Ok so if something gave me a 4+ cover save like the fire shield does even in the open the shrouded would boost it to 2+?
Stop getting caught up on the out in the open part. Its just an example, its not some extra rule to shrouded. The only thing Shrouded is is +2 to your cover saves period
So yes having a 4+ from fire shield with shrouded will give you a 2+ cover save (no matter where you are)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/10 06:18:17
Subject: Confused with the rule of shrouded.
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
It says, "Note that this means that..."
"This" is referring back to the previous sentence, that you count your cover save as being 2 better than normal - in the open you would have no cover. 2 better than no cover is a 5+ cover save.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/10 09:24:45
Subject: Confused with the rule of shrouded.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
There's 6 possible cover saves you can have
2+
3+
4+ (for example, ruins)
5+
6+
0+ (no save, a.k.a. "the open field")
Shrouded gives you a +2 to your cover save, meaning you go up 2 steps in the ladder.
If your unit would be in ruins, it would start on the 4+ step of the ladder (because ruins give you a 4+ cover save). If the unit has shrouded, it would go up 2 steps, ending on the 2+ cover save step.
Now, if you're in the open field, a unit is in the 0+ bracket. If the unit has shrouded, it moves 2 steps up, ending up on the 5+ ladder step.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/01/10 09:25:25
You don't have to be happy when you lose, just don't make winning the condition of your happiness. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/10 12:02:23
Subject: Confused with the rule of shrouded.
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
SpacePup1987 wrote:So it says even in the open I get a 5 plus cover save.
It also says cover saves as being 2 points better.
So is the 5 in open really a 3+?
And also what if I use the fire sheild from the Pyromancy psychic power of fire shield that gives a 4 + cover save?
Would that be a 2+?
Just started playing and I play daemons,.so would like to know the rulings.
Thank you.
The noob
Shrouded increases your cover save by 2. So in open ground your cover save is - (non existent). Increased to 5+ by shrouded. If you had a 5+ cover it would become 3+
|
These are my opinions. This is how I feel. Others may feel differently. This needs to be stated for some reason.
|
|
 |
 |
|