Switch Theme:

Infinite horizontal range for engagement in melee combat.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Stinky Spore




Texas

Hey folks, brand new player here so apologies for anything I have missed. I'm sure I'm wrong about this and will feel like an idiot in short order.

On page 49 of the BRB, under the heading "Determining Who Can Fight", is the following text:

"A model is engaged in combat if:

- It is in base contact with one or more enemy models.
- It is within 2" horizontally and/or 6" vertically of a friendly model in base contact with one or more enemy models in the same combat."

The second bullet point here would allow a model anywhere on the table to fight, in fact requires them to fight ("any model....engaged with an enemy model must fight", p49), as long as they are not on a piece of terrain that elevates them more than 6" above the table (assuming the friendly model in base contact is sitting on the table). For example, a model 1" to the side and 1" up is both within 2" horizontally and 6" vertically, while a model that is 5" away horizontally and 5" away vertically satisfies the criteria of "within 2" horizontally or 6" vertically". Thanks to the word "or", that is enough to fulfill the requirement of being engaged in combat. If the rule only said "and", both requirements would be necessary, but the use of "or" is pretty darn clear in its meaning. (At the same time, a model could theoretically be sitting on a tall piece of terrain over 6" up, as long as they were within 2" horizontally, and still fight)

I can find nothing in either the Measuring Distances section nor a limitation elsewhere in the BRB that would negate this.

Obviously this is neither intended nor feasible, but I do believe it is RAW.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/01/26 05:23:03


 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

Are you trying to argue that models anywhere on the board, regardless of their horizontal proximity (or lack thereof) are engaged if they are within a 6" vertical measured "band" or "zone" (either above or below the friendly model in base contact with one or more enemy models in the same combat) measured perpendicular to the any point on the horizontal plane of the model's position on the table?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/01/26 05:36:27


 
   
Made in us
Stinky Spore




Texas

Yes, I am.
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

Okay. How do you measure vertically and how do you measure horizontally?

Hint: it's not taking a diagonal measurement to a model 24" away horizontally but at a point 1" higher than the friendly model in base contact with one or more enemy models in the same combat.

If anything per RAW it would include only models within 6" as measured directly above said model.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/01/26 05:43:24


 
   
Made in us
Stinky Spore




Texas

Well, I'm not really sure, to be honest. I'm reading the entry on measuring distances and it describes how to measure the distance between models, and how to determine whether a model is within a certain distance. But there is no mention that I can see of determining vertical or horizontal distance. Vertical distance and horizontal distance must be able to be different values for a single pair of models, otherwise it would be incoherent to say that they must be within 2" horizontally or 6" vertically. Assume the infinite distance is garbage and the following example still stumps me: A model is 1" up and 4" to the side of a friendly model in base contact. The model is within 6" according to the measuring distance section of the BRB. Is it within 6" vertically? I think so, but then again I can't find instructions for measuring vertical distance. It is not within 2" horizontally, though. So is this model engaged? If so, is it because we assume 6" vertically to actually mean an absolute distance of 6" along with some amount of vertical offset? And if that is the case, why not use the 2" horizontal? Further, how does this avoid the "or" in the wording?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




He is correct.

Spoiler:
vertically - adjective

1. being in a position or direction perpendicular to the plane of the horizon.



In Geometric space, 6" vertically defines planes (in elevation or in Y) above and below the model and 2" horizontally defines a circle (in X and Z) around the model. Together they define a cylinder of engagement.

The use of "and/or" is problematic, knocking out the X and Z leads to whole Y elevations of +/- 6" where engagement is possible.

But since the "or" read leads to an unplayable game, I guess we do the patently obvious and ignore the "or" so we get to play the game.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/01/26 06:21:54


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: