Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/27 10:52:02
Subject: Do drones detached from a tau vehicle count as being in the same formation?
|
 |
Numberless Necron Warrior
UK
|
If I purchase a tau Piranha as part of a Hunter Cadre (& Hunter Contingent), and then detach it's drones from it. When I fire at an enemy with those drones do they count as being part of the formation? Does this therefore mean that they will contribute to the 3-units-must-fire-at-the-same-target-to-benefit-from-improved-BS unit count?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/27 11:43:57
Subject: Do drones detached from a tau vehicle count as being in the same formation?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Yes, exactly like how the drones that detach from a Firewarriors devilfish in a CAD would have objective secured.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/27 12:41:03
Subject: Do drones detached from a tau vehicle count as being in the same formation?
|
 |
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:Yes, exactly like how the drones that detach from a Firewarriors devilfish in a CAD would have objective secured.
Except for the fact any drone that detaches from a vehicle is non-scoring non-denying. Non-scoring objective secured drones, weird rules.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/01/27 12:41:51
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/27 13:06:23
Subject: Re:Do drones detached from a tau vehicle count as being in the same formation?
|
 |
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets
|
Yes, they count as being from that formation.
|
Armies:
The Iron Waagh: 10,000+ 8th Edition Tournament Record: 4-7-1
Salamanders: 5,000 8th Edition Tournament Record: 4-2
Ultramarines: 4,000
Armored Battle Company (DKoK): 4000
Elysians: 500
Khorne Daemons: 2500
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/27 20:11:29
Subject: Do drones detached from a tau vehicle count as being in the same formation?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Nilok wrote: Kommissar Kel wrote:Yes, exactly like how the drones that detach from a Firewarriors devilfish in a CAD would have objective secured.
Except for the fact any drone that detaches from a vehicle is non-scoring non-denying. Non-scoring objective secured drones, weird rules.
Attach an IC: boom scoring.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/01/27 20:13:07
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/27 20:24:54
Subject: Do drones detached from a tau vehicle count as being in the same formation?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Kommissar Kel wrote: Nilok wrote: Kommissar Kel wrote:Yes, exactly like how the drones that detach from a Firewarriors devilfish in a CAD would have objective secured.
Except for the fact any drone that detaches from a vehicle is non-scoring non-denying. Non-scoring objective secured drones, weird rules.
Attach an IC: boom scoring.
Are drone units non-scoring/non-denying, or is it drone units comprised entirely of drones?
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/27 20:53:18
Subject: Do drones detached from a tau vehicle count as being in the same formation?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Happyjew wrote:Are drone units non-scoring/non-denying, or is it drone units comprised entirely of drones?
The latter. However I don't see mention of them being non-denying, just non-scoring.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/27 21:32:40
Subject: Do drones detached from a tau vehicle count as being in the same formation?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
There is no denying units anymore. They are all just scoring (or Obj Sec). Drones are not scoring.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/28 02:16:16
Subject: Do drones detached from a tau vehicle count as being in the same formation?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Units of only drones are non-scoring. Add anything that isn't a drone to the unit and it becomes scoring again(and ob-sec scoring if it has obsec to begin with.
This means 3 things:
1) a fire-warrior unit with drones(in a CAD) has ob-sec until all but the drones die, and regains use of the rule in that event if any ic(as currently there are no drone ics) joins them.
2) the same ic-joining and use of ob-sec happens to detatched drones when an IC joins them.
3) IC(owned or hypothetical-not) drones joined to a unit of only drones(remnants as wargear, detached from vehicles, or brought as a stand-alone squad) will still not score, ob-sec or not until joined by a non-drone.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
|