Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/27 13:13:28
Subject: Angel's Fury Spearhead turn 1 charge?
|
 |
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine
|
A topic that has been discussed before but just making sure. I want to make an army out of a bottom tier Codex just for the challenge and to get some variety. Would include AFS + some cheap Jump Pack units or perhaps Drop Pods (drop pods are open topped and therefore assault vehicles.)
With this formation, it seems to me, you can get turn 1 charges going from Deep Strike. Let's first remember that Codex beats BRB.
Augur Triangulation: If a friendly unit with the Blood Angels Faction arrives from Deep Strike Reserve within 12" of at least two models from this formation equipped with teleport homers, then it does not scatter and can charge on the same turn it arrives.
Now one might argue that Teleport Homers need to be on the table on the previous turn for them to function.
However, Augur Triangulation does not require the Teleport Homers to function. It requires a unit with the Blood Angels Faction that arrives from Deep Strike Reserve to be within 12" of at least two models from this formation equipped with teleport homers. Then it goes on to grant them the ability to charge and not scatter.
The function of a wargear item is not required, instead being within range of a unit equipped with it is.
So with that out of the way, it appears that a BA unit that enters from Deep Strike reserve can charge on turn 1 should it meet the abovementioned requirements?
And if I'm not mistaken, using the same logic that the Culexus Assassin employs to increase it's bubble size while in a Vendetta, the range can also be measured from the hull of an arriving Stormraven with the embarked Teleport Homer model inside? A Culexus Assassin is also an embarked passenger in a vehicle.
So all and all, arrive from Deep Strike Reserve within 12" from two AFS Stormravens and you get to charge instantly and not scatter?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/01/27 13:17:57
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/27 14:05:09
Subject: Angel's Fury Spearhead turn 1 charge?
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Yes you can do this. It isn't that strong (it would be far more so if BA dreads had SM statlines) Dreads in pods is the way to go.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/27 14:33:24
Subject: Re:Angel's Fury Spearhead turn 1 charge?
|
 |
Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
It will work well with the Archangels Strike Force. Take 3 dreads in pods, have fun.
|
5250 pts
3850 pts
Deathwatch: 1500 pts
Imperial Knights: 375 pts
30K 2500 pts |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/27 17:29:18
Subject: Angel's Fury Spearhead turn 1 charge?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Old question, it absolutely works, raw.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/27 04:04:58
Subject: Angel's Fury Spearhead turn 1 charge?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
An old post do the 1st turn charge still works? Because of the new faq that states that the model must be on the table and not inside a transport
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/27 07:53:44
Subject: Angel's Fury Spearhead turn 1 charge?
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
|
Correct - This build was situational before and now doesn't work
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/27 14:30:04
Subject: Angel's Fury Spearhead turn 1 charge?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
You would have to Skies of Fury deep strike the Sgts out to make it work, but then you have to worry about scatter.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/06/29 17:56:21
|
|
 |
 |
|