Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/28 08:14:48
Subject: Power of the Machine Spirit
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
"The vehicle can fire one more weapon at its full Ballistic Skill than normally permitted."
Seems pretty self explanatory, but I've read mixed interpretations on this.
For example:
This would *not* allow a vehicle such as a manticore to fire twice in 1 round, because it specifically states in the manticore's rules that it can only be fired once per turn.
However, it *would* allow a vehicle such as a Leman Russ, Baneblade etc to fire its primary cannon twice in 1 round, because it does not specifically state it cannot be fired more than once in 1 round?
Thanks for your time!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/01/28 08:15:14
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/28 08:18:59
Subject: Power of the Machine Spirit
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Commissar Benny wrote:"The vehicle can fire one more weapon at its full Ballistic Skill than normally permitted."
Seems pretty self explanatory, but I've read mixed interpretations on this. So for example:
This would *not* allow a vehicle such as a manticore to fire twice in 1 round, because it specifically states in the manticore's rules that it can only be fired once per turn.
However, it *would* allow a vehicle such as a Leman Russ, Baneblade etc to fire its primary cannon twice in 1 round, because it does not specifically state it cannot be fired more than once in 1 round?
Thanks for your time!
one more weapon at its full Ballistic Skill than normally permitted, does not mean you can fire the same weapon twice.
The rules explicitly restricting the same weapon firing more than once.
So you can not fire a Leman Russ, Baneblade etc's primary cannon twice in 1 round, since eacy weapon is restricted to only firing once each round.
Power of the Machine Spirit doe allow a Land Raider, that moved 6 inches or less to fore both its sponsons at full BS, or a Land Raider that moved more than 6 inches to fire one weapon at full BS (And the others at snap shots as usual).
So there you go.
A weapon can not fire twice since that is explicitly disallowed.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/28 08:29:37
Subject: Re:Power of the Machine Spirit
|
 |
Experienced Maneater
|
Yeah, we've been over this multiple times. PotMS doesn't give you permission to use a weapon twice in the same turn.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/28 08:51:13
Subject: Re:Power of the Machine Spirit
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
In another discussion, someone stated:
"In basic rules, one can only fire a Weapon once per Phase. Now, PotMS can be used on a second copy of that Weapon, like a Land Raider's second TL Lascannon, but not the same Lascannon the "crew" is shooting with."
Is this correct? If yes...
Would this allow a model such as a stormlord which is allowed to fire its mega-vulcan bolter twice, to be able to fire it a 3rd time?
You say:
The rules explicitly restricting the same weapon firing more than once. Yet that does not apply to the Stormlord.
The wording on PoTMS leaves alot to be desired.
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2016/01/28 09:10:02
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/28 09:20:01
Subject: Re:Power of the Machine Spirit
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Commissar Benny wrote:In another discussion, someone stated:
"In basic rules, one can only fire a Weapon once per Phase. Now, PotMS can be used on a second copy of that Weapon, like a Land Raider's second TL Lascannon, but not the same Lascannon the "crew" is shooting with."
Is this correct?
Yes, because it is a different weapon, albeit with the same name.
If yes...
Would this allow a model such as a stormlord which is allowed to fire its mega-vulcan bolter twice, to be able to fire it a 3rd time?
You have no permission to fire a weapon more than once, unless otherwise stated (as in the case of the Stormlord).
You say:
The rules explicitly restricting the same weapon firing more than once. Yet that does not apply to the Stormlord.
Because the Stormlord has a special rule allowing it to fire the same weapon more than once. Power of the Machine Spirit says you may fire one more weapon at full Ballistic Skill than normally allowed. It does not say you may fire a weapon that has already fired again, or that you may fire the same weapon more than once.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/01/28 09:20:32
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/28 09:20:28
Subject: Power of the Machine Spirit
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
You can't fire any specific weapon more times than is allowed.
A permission to shoot the mega-bolter twice does not mean that you can shoot three times.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/28 10:04:19
Subject: Re:Power of the Machine Spirit
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Ok, thank you guys for being patient but I am having a hard time distinguishing the difference between:
"Normally permitted & not having permission."
You say that :
"In basic rules, one can only fire a Weapon once per Phase. Now, PotMS can be used on a second copy of that Weapon, like a Land Raider's second TL Lascannon, but not the same Lascannon the "crew" is shooting with."
can be fired again, because it is a different weapon albeit the same name?
So does that mean a Leman Russes/Baneblade variant TL weapons can fire also under PotMS because they are a "different weapon albeit same name"?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/01/28 10:04:40
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/28 10:19:16
Subject: Re:Power of the Machine Spirit
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
No individual weapon ordinarily has permission to be fired more than once. A Land Raider has two Twin-linked Lascannons, so it may fire each. They are two separate weapons, though. It is not one weapon firing multiple times.
Does the Leman Russ or Baneblade even have the Power of the Machine Spirit special rule anyway?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/28 10:32:06
Subject: Re:Power of the Machine Spirit
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Mr. Shine wrote:No individual weapon ordinarily has permission to be fired more than once. A Land Raider has two Twin-linked Lascannons, so it may fire each. They are two separate weapons, though. It is not one weapon firing multiple times.
Does the Leman Russ or Baneblade even have the Power of the Machine Spirit special rule anyway?
It can be granted by an enginseer to any vehicle within 12 inches.
I appreciate your patience, & forgive my confusion. I just really do not understand the part of the rule where it states:
"The vehicle can fire one more weapon at its full Ballistic Skill than normally permitted."
So your land raider for example:
Is it not normally permitted to use all of its weapons or something? If not, then I can see why this would benefit the Land Raider.
But for IG vehicles for example, how does One more weapon benefit anything? All weapons can be fired each turn. If the a vehicle is normally "permitted" to fire 1 times per turn. How does "The vehicle can fire one more weapon at its full Ballistic Skill than normally permitted." not = 2 with one weapon?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/01/28 10:33:30
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/28 10:37:46
Subject: Power of the Machine Spirit
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
All weapons can be fired but not always at full BS. A Chimera for instance that has moved at combat speed may only fire 1 weapon at full BS and its other weapons are snap firing. PotMS would let you fire a second weapon at full BS.
Also you are missing another benefit of PotMS which is the weapon fired with that rule may also fire at a different target. So on a Leman Russ (which being a Heavy Vehicle generally fires all its weapons at full BS already) can use PotMS to fire at one of its weapons at a second target
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/28 11:03:05
Subject: Power of the Machine Spirit
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
CrownAxe wrote:All weapons can be fired but not always at full BS. A Chimera for instance that has moved at combat speed may only fire 1 weapon at full BS and its other weapons are snap firing. PotMS would let you fire a second weapon at full BS.
Also you are missing another benefit of PotMS which is the weapon fired with that rule may also fire at a different target. So on a Leman Russ (which being a Heavy Vehicle generally fires all its weapons at full BS already) can use PotMS to fire at one of its weapons at a second target
That is something I did overlook.
I guess I have a better understanding of how this works now. Thanks for your input/patience everyone.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/28 12:12:48
Subject: Power of the Machine Spirit
|
 |
Shrieking Guardian Jetbiker
|
Just tagging this on here but how does PoTMS interact with effects that reduce the shot to snap firing such as flyers' hard to hit rule, jinking and invisibility?
Would you still be firing at your standard BS or at BS1? Silly question I know...I really should know this off the cuff but I'm guessing I'm having a memory lapse  I just find that sort of interaction very rare.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2016/01/28 12:19:31
Hawky wrote:Power Armour's greatest weakness is Newton, the deadliest snfbtch in space.
"You're in the Guard(ians), son! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/28 13:53:14
Subject: Power of the Machine Spirit
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Only firing snap shots is not the same as firing zero weapons at full bs. PotMS has no effect in circumstances where you can only fire snap shots.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|