Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/02/08 18:49:51
Subject: Multiple charge declared, one enemy unit wiped out with HoW. All get to attack second unit?
|
 |
Krazed Killa Kan
|
This is kind of an odd one, for me.
I had a solid group of boyz (~20) wanting to charge a trygon prime. My opponent managed to place 2 gargoyles on one flank of the trygon, and terrain was on the other, forcing me to charge in a very narrow causeway if I wanted to assault only the trygon. So, I decided to multicharge and take out both, even though from the angle I was charging from, most of my attacks would be forced to be against the gargoyles - less than ideal, but best I could do.
Thing is, I used the ork horde detachment, and rolled a 10 for my charge distance, so my boyz got HoW.
With the HoW hits, I was easily able to kill the 2 gargoyles at I10.
So.....now what? To the best of my knowledge, my boyz got to pile in 3" at their initiative step (2), which easily got them into swinging distance of the trygon. And because the gargoyles were killed at I10, they were no longer in the way at I2, so there's nothing barring the boyz from moving toward and attacking the trygon.
Is that allowed? It's just a little odd that they charged one unit but get to attack another, but I think it's legal. I would, of course, still get no bonuses because of the multicharge, but everyone would get to hit the trygon, I believe.
I still feel as if the ork horde detachment bonus is, by FAR, the worst faction specific detachment bonus of any book, so if this is legal it's literally the first time it's been useful for me.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/02/08 18:55:20
"Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment." Words to live by. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/02/08 18:56:27
Subject: Multiple charge declared, one enemy unit wiped out with HoW. All get to attack second unit?
|
 |
Ship's Officer
|
sounds about right, they get to pile in and attack the trygon.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/02/08 19:18:46
Subject: Multiple charge declared, one enemy unit wiped out with HoW. All get to attack second unit?
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Remember that any Boyz who did HoW would not be able to Pile In to the Trygon, as they do not gain additional Pile Ins from HoW. So any model who didn't Hammer the Gargoyle and not already Engaged would Pile In to add their thumpin.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/02/08 19:42:19
Subject: Multiple charge declared, one enemy unit wiped out with HoW. All get to attack second unit?
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
|
Charistoph wrote:Remember that any Boyz who did HoW would not be able to Pile In to the Trygon, as they do not gain additional Pile Ins from HoW. So any model who didn't Hammer the Gargoyle and not already Engaged would Pile In to add their thumpin.
Presumably they'd pile in at their own initiative step though? As HoW are at I10?
|
15k+
3k+
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/02/08 19:58:22
Subject: Multiple charge declared, one enemy unit wiped out with HoW. All get to attack second unit?
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Ffyllotek wrote:Charistoph wrote:Remember that any Boyz who did HoW would not be able to Pile In to the Trygon, as they do not gain additional Pile Ins from HoW. So any model who didn't Hammer the Gargoyle and not already Engaged would Pile In to add their thumpin.
Presumably they'd pile in at their own initiative step though? As HoW are at I10?
Only those models that are B2B would generate a HoW Attack. And the rule states, " This Attack is resolved during the Fight sub-phase at the Initiative 10 step, but does not grant the model an additional Pile In move.". This could be referring to not allowing other models not B2B to Pile In, but the paragraph's subject is, " a model with this special rule end(ing) its charge move in base or hull contact with an enemy model...", so wouldn't be addressing any other models without additional notice.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/02/08 20:01:42
Subject: Multiple charge declared, one enemy unit wiped out with HoW. All get to attack second unit?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Pile In occurs are your I step. HoW does not let you Pile In.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/02/08 20:03:04
Subject: Multiple charge declared, one enemy unit wiped out with HoW. All get to attack second unit?
|
 |
Primered White
|
Fragile wrote:Pile In occurs are your I step. HoW does not let you Pile In.
To clarify, Hammer of Wrath does not make you Pile In at I10, but you still have your normal Pile In at your actual I step.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/02/08 20:12:10
Subject: Multiple charge declared, one enemy unit wiped out with HoW. All get to attack second unit?
|
 |
Krazed Killa Kan
|
Right, that was my take. The rule says you don't get an additional pile in step due to HoW, so you don't get one at I10 and one at I2.
Though that rule seems rather redundant, as units who benefit from HoW do, by the fact that they're in B2B contact, can't pile in, because they're already stuck in B2B.
|
"Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment." Words to live by. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/02/08 20:16:56
Subject: Multiple charge declared, one enemy unit wiped out with HoW. All get to attack second unit?
|
 |
Primered White
|
Kap'n Krump wrote:Though that rule seems rather redundant, as units who benefit from HoW do, by the fact that they're in B2B contact, can't pile in, because they're already stuck in B2B.
Yeah, exactly. I imagine it's written that way so that people don't think that they should move models that could otherwise HoW but aren't in B2B at the I10 step and then claim HoW after the fact. But yes, it's basically redundant.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/02/10 22:14:13
Subject: Re:Multiple charge declared, one enemy unit wiped out with HoW. All get to attack second unit?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
I think I may see one potential snag with this, which I'm not clear about both from a rules standpoint and I didn't see it in the OP.
You said the Gargoyles were blocking most of your units from the Trygon - were you able to get any models in B2B with the Trygon at the end of your initial charge? If so, you'd be fine. If not, then you'd only be able to hit the Gargoyles and couldn't Pile In to the Trygon since it's no longer locked in combat at the end of the Charge Phase.
|
|
 |
 |
|