Switch Theme:

Tau Supporting Fire when charged unit is falling back  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




So here's the situation:

Was playing against new Tau and they failed Leadership roll at the end of the shooting phase and so are falling back. I then declare an assault against them with a throwaway unit of two Kabalites cuz why not, worth a shot. He failed his regroup test and so the unit is removed, BUT should he have been able to overwatch with his Riptide that was in Supporting Fire range? We both forgot about it until a turn or two later, but that made me question whether they could still overwatch. I'd think yes, they do because of the way Supporting Fire is worded. But then if the Kabalites had been killed in overwatch does the unit falling back still have to make that regrouping test? Basically the question is which order to do things in, regroup test then overwatch or vice versa....?
   
Made in us
Whiteshield Conscript Trooper




Over watch first. The assault rules say that you fire over watch, then roll for charge range. In The rules for regrouping it states that you take a leadership test "as soon as the enemy is found to be within charge range."
   
Made in gb
Member of a Lodge? I Can't Say



UK

Regroup tests before any overwatch IMO. but i think the riptide would still get supporting fire. But surely you have to make the successful charge before the charged unit is removed.

So the the falling back unit failed to regroup, the Riptide supports fire, roll for charge, if charge is successful remove the falling back unit.

That's how I'd do it.


"That's how a Luna Wolf fights."
"If you can't keep up, go and join the Death Guard"
"It had often been said that Space Marines knew no fear, but when Angron charged, he ran" 
   
Made in us
Whiteshield Conscript Trooper




Taffy, the falling back unit will still fire over watch. The assault phase summery on page 44 clearly states that you resolve over watch prior to rolling to charge range. Nothing prevents a falling back unit from firing over watch.

On page 59, under "Regrouping When Assaulted", it states that they test to regroup "as soon as the enemy is found to be in charge range", which is after charge range is rolled.
   
Made in gb
Member of a Lodge? I Can't Say



UK

Can you fire overwatch while falling back? Don't you have to regroup first?

I interpreted within charge range as meaning within potential charge range which is 12".


"That's how a Luna Wolf fights."
"If you can't keep up, go and join the Death Guard"
"It had often been said that Space Marines knew no fear, but when Angron charged, he ran" 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Taffy17 wrote:
Can you fire overwatch while falling back? Don't you have to regroup first?

I interpreted within charge range as meaning within potential charge range which is 12".



You can fire while Falling Back. They are Snap Shots. Charge Range is the distance you roll on 2d6, which comes after Overwatch.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: