Switch Theme:

Breaking up IC units?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Terminator with Assault Cannon





Question:

If a daemons player has a unit of heralds of tzeentch, can he break up the unit and have them enter other units individually?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/02/21 21:43:29


 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

Yes if they have the Independent Character Special Rule. The Independent Character rule is specific to the model and allows the model to leave any unit it is part of and either join another unit or become its own unit.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




Yea. If the IC loses it's IC special rule, it specifically says so.

For example, in the Heralds of the Great Wolf formation,
It says that 'all models in the formation lose the Independent Character' special rule.

For them, they would not be able to break up.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

They're never really a single unit (unless you start them that way at the start of the game or join them during the game) if you're referring to the 'Heralds of Chaos' section of the codex. The 'Heralds of Chaos' section on page 94 of the codex simply allows you to purchase upto four Heralds in a detachment at the cost of a single Force Organization Chart slot. It does not make them a single unit any more than a Tactical Squad and its Rhino transport would be a single unit. They both use the same slot, but they're separate units.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/02/21 22:51:46


'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 Ghaz wrote:
They're never really a single unit (unless you start them that way at the start of the game or join them during the game) if you're referring to the 'Heralds of Chaos' section of the codex. The 'Heralds of Chaos' section on page 94 of the codex simply allows you to purchase upto four Heralds in a detachment at the cost of a single Force Organization Chart slot. It does not make them a single unit any more than a Tactical Squad and its Rhino transport would be a single unit. They both use the same slot, but they're separate units.

Or the squads in an Imperial Guard Platoon, either.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Terminator with Assault Cannon





Thanks guys!
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: