Switch Theme:

Gladius Strike Force Tactical Doctrine  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Terminator with Assault Cannon





Taking a full battle company enables you to use each of the combat doctrines once per game.

Using a demi-company allows a single use of the tactical doctrine.

How many times can I use the tactical doctrine per game?

Twice: once for the demi-company, and once for the battle company?

Or does the battle company "bonus" replace the demi-company bonus?
   
Made in pl
Regular Dakkanaut






Traditio wrote:
Taking a full battle company enables you to use each of the combat doctrines once per game.

You don't have to take full battle company. You have to take Gladius Strike Force - minimum one Demi-Compay and any one Auxilary Choice.
The doctrines have different "range".
Gladius doctrine affects all Gladius units (Battle Demi-Company, 10th Task Force, etc).
Demi-Company doctrine affects only Demi-Company units.

If you by accident take Chapter Tactics Ultramarines you can enact Tactical Doctrine third time beacuse of Scions of Guilliman. This time it will affect all Ultramarines in your army.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/02/25 18:56:10


   
Made in us
Terminator with Assault Cannon





 danyboy wrote:
They have different "range".
Gladius doctrine affects all Gladius units (Battle Demi-Company, 10th Task Force, etc).
Demi-Company doctrine affects only Demi-Company units.

If you by accident take Chapter Tactics Ultramarines you can enact Tactical Doctrine third time beacuse of Scions of Guilliman. This time it will affect all Ultramarines in your army.


So I can use it twice?

Once for the entire strike force, the other time for the demicompanies?
   
Made in pl
Regular Dakkanaut






I've edited my previous post, you may want to re-read it.
Traditio wrote:
Once for the entire strike force, the other time for the demicompanies?

Yes, but remember, you can enact only one doctrine per turn.
One time you enact for entire Gladius Strike Force, one time for Battle Demi-Company and one time for Ultramarines Army.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/02/25 18:59:51


   
Made in us
Terminator with Assault Cannon





danyboy wrote:You can enact only one doctrine per turn.
One time you enact for entire Gladius Strike Force, one time for Battle Demi-Company and one time for Ultramarines Army.


Further question:

Can I use the tactical doctrine for both demicompanies in the same turn?

Or do I have to give one demicompany the tactical doctrine one turn, and wait until the next turn to give it to the other one?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/02/25 19:01:13


 
   
Made in pl
Regular Dakkanaut






The way I understand doctrine enacted by the Tactical Flexibility rule affect both Demi-Companies at the same time.
But two Demi-Companies don't allow you to use doctrine twice in a game (because ther are two Demi-Companies).

   
Made in us
Terminator with Assault Cannon





 danyboy wrote:
The way I understand doctrine enacted by the Tactical Flexibility rule affect both Demi-Companies at the same time.
But two Demi-Companies don't allow you to use doctrine twice in a game (because ther are two Demi-Companies).


Ok, thank you! You've been helpful.
   
Made in us
Omnipotent Necron Overlord






My understanding is that doctrines affect your whole army. you can only call one per turn though. Plus they only effect units that have the same chapter tactics rule. So if you are ultra marines you can call the tactical doctrine 3 times - once for each demi and once for being ultra marines - then on the 4th and 5th turns you can call the rest of your ultra marines doctrines and they will also effect all your ultra marine units.

If we fail to anticipate the unforeseen or expect the unexpected in a universe of infinite possibilities, we may find ourselves at the mercy of anyone or anything that cannot be programmed, categorized or easily referenced.
- Fox Mulder 
   
Made in us
Terminator with Assault Cannon





 Xenomancers wrote:
My understanding is that doctrines affect your whole army. you can only call one per turn though. Plus they only effect units that have the same chapter tactics rule. So if you are ultra marines you can call the tactical doctrine 3 times - once for each demi and once for being ultra marines - then on the 4th and 5th turns you can call the rest of your ultra marines doctrines and they will also effect all your ultra marine units.


That's not what I was asking. I was asking how many times I can use the tactical doctrine per game. I fully understand that I can only use one combat doctrine per turn.

Do you share danyboy's opinion that the tactical doctrine can be used twice per game for a non-ultra marines battle company?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/02/25 19:48:19


 
   
Made in us
Omnipotent Necron Overlord






Traditio wrote:
 Xenomancers wrote:
My understanding is that doctrines affect your whole army. you can only call one per turn though. Plus they only effect units that have the same chapter tactics rule. So if you are ultra marines you can call the tactical doctrine 3 times - once for each demi and once for being ultra marines - then on the 4th and 5th turns you can call the rest of your ultra marines doctrines and they will also effect all your ultra marine units.


That's not what I was asking. I was asking how many times I can use the tactical doctrine per game. I fully understand that I can only use one combat doctrine per turn.

Do you share danyboy's opinion that the tactical doctrine can be used twice per game for a non-ultra marines battle company?

In gladius you can use it twice.

If we fail to anticipate the unforeseen or expect the unexpected in a universe of infinite possibilities, we may find ourselves at the mercy of anyone or anything that cannot be programmed, categorized or easily referenced.
- Fox Mulder 
   
Made in pl
Regular Dakkanaut






 Xenomancers wrote:
My understanding is that doctrines affect your whole army. you can only call one per turn though. Plus they only effect units that have the same chapter tactics rule. So if you are ultra marines you can call the tactical doctrine 3 times - once for each demi and once for being ultra marines - then on the 4th and 5th turns you can call the rest of your ultra marines doctrines and they will also effect all your ultra marine units.

Doctrines affect models with CT rule, but only those who have rule that allowed them to enact doctrine.

Look at what each Doctrine first sentence states: "Affected models can (...)"

Now look at each "source" of doctrine:
- Scions of Guilliman (Ultramarines Chapter Tactics): "(...) all Ultramarines models in your army are affected (...)"
- Tactical Flexibility (Battle Demi-Company special rule): "(...) all models in your army with the Chapter Tactics rule that are part of a Battle Demi-company are affected."
- Codex Astartes (Gladius Command Benefit): "all models in your army with the Chapter Tactics rule that are part of a Gladius Strike Force are affected."

It's that simple

   
Made in us
Terminator with Assault Cannon





 Xenomancers wrote:
In gladius you can use it twice.


Wonderful!

I like rerolling ones.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: