Switch Theme:

Is this rule from 1d4chan true or false? (Regarding taking Necron Relics)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Pile of Necron Spare Parts




B.C Canada

From the Necrons 7th Edition tactics. Mephrit Dynasty Relics section


You DEFINITELY can't take multiple of the same Relic, but I'm inclined to believe you can take both the Solar Thermasite and the Nightmare Shroud. They're two separate Relic lists. Playing a Mephrit FOC lets you take any of the RotWiH, and the codex lets you take ONE of the AotA.

Relics are a bit wonky. Some supplements can take both their own relics as well as those of their base codex, some can't. In the case of Mephrit Dynasty, I've seen the ruling that you can take only one relic per character, although you can take it either from Mephrit or base codex (provided your character is from a Mephrit Dynasty formation, of course), but that isn't an official GW FAQ.



"Characters with the Necrons Faction that are part of a Detachment or Formation presented in this book can select an item from the Relics of the War in Heaven list at the points cost shown. Only one of each of the relics may be chosen per army - there is only one of each of these items in the Galaxy."

All that states is that a character can select one, and that there cannot be duplicates, as in two Solar Thermasites.

It doesn't say you can't take Artefacts of the Aeon if you're in a MDD, and it doesn't can't take one if you take a Relic of War.

RAW should read like this:

A Necron character can take one Artefact of the Aeons, and a Necron character can take one Relic of War.


So does that mean I can have a Necron Overlord/Destroyer Lord with a Nightmare Shroud and a Solar Thermasite?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/02/26 20:04:03


 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Aspiring Champion of Chaos






Using the rules from a codex limits you to the armory list of that codex unless specifically stated otherwise.

2000 Khorne Bloodbound (Skullfiend Tribe- Aqshy)
1000 Tzeentch Arcanites (Pyrofane Cult - Hysh) in progress
2000 Slaves to Darkness (Ravagers)
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




If it's a Mephrit Dynasty Cohort (or Necron Formaiton from Shield of Baal: Exterminatus) you can choose to take Necron relics from the Mephrit Dynasty in addition to the standard codex relics.

Spoiler:
Certain units chosen from the Mephrit Dynasty Detachment and Formations can also make use of the Relics and Warlord Traits listed below.


Overlords can take Solar Thermasite. Destroyer lords cannot.

Spoiler:
Solar Thermasite... 25 points

Necron Overlord or Cryptek only
. Add +1 to the Strength value of the bearer’s ranged and Melee weapons. Furthermore, the bearer re-rolls saving throws of 1.


So you could have an Overlord with Solar Thermasite and Nightmare Shroud.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/02/26 20:23:21


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: