Switch Theme:

Kataphron breacher heavy battle servitor special rule  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block





Under the "heavy battle servitor" special rule it states that the unit can fire two weapons in the shooting phase, and I was wondering if that means it has to be two SEPARATE weapons, or if you can choose to fire a single weapon 2 times. I'm wondering because the kataphron breacher only has 1 ranged weapon on it at any time, and it'd be a little bit of a bummer if the rule wouldn't let it fire it's one weapon twice.
   
Made in us
Assault Kommando




Flint, Mi

I am inclined to believe it fires only once, otherwise it would state it can fire twice.

It is the same rule for the destroyers who do have 2 weapons.
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

From the 'Select a Weapon' portion of the Shooting phase rules:

"First, select a weapon that one or more models in your unit are equipped with. The selected weapon cannot be one that the unit has shot with during this phase."

The Heavy Battle Servitor rule modifies how many weapons the model may fire but makes no reference that could change the restriction against firing a weapon the unit has shot with that phase.
   
Made in us
Trustworthy Shas'vre



california

 Mr. Shine wrote:
From the 'Select a Weapon' portion of the Shooting phase rules:

"First, select a weapon that one or more models in your unit are equipped with. The selected weapon cannot be one that the unit has shot with during this phase."

The Heavy Battle Servitor rule modifies how many weapons the model may fire but makes no reference that could change the restriction against firing a weapon the unit has shot with that phase.


It also doesn't say that it doesn't change it. Since this is a separate special rule from the shooting phase, and this is a permissive rule set, and there is no regard of not selecting the same weapon twice in the mechanicus codex nor stating anything about this special rule in the brb, raw it can fire the same weapon twice
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






It wouldn't be the first time a unit is given a rule it can't use simply because other units with similar fluff have the rule (example, Craftworld Eldar Windriders and the Battle Focus rule).
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

It says two weapons, not one weapon twice.
They have two weapons.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/02/27 23:21:43


 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Pain4Pleasure wrote:
It also doesn't say that it doesn't change it.

Rules are permissive. They tell us what we can do, and only tell us what we can't do if its rescinding an earlier permission. Otherwise we would need a rule that says I can't put my dead models back on the table. After all, the rules don't say that I can't...

If the rules don't say that it changes it, then it doesn't change it.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

Pain4Pleasure wrote:
It also doesn't say that it doesn't change it. Since this is a separate special rule from the shooting phase, and this is a permissive rule set, and there is no regard of not selecting the same weapon twice in the mechanicus codex nor stating anything about this special rule in the brb, raw it can fire the same weapon twice


That's not how basic versus advanced and codex vs rulebook works. For them to override there must be a conflict. The conflict exists with the number of weapons the model may fire, but again, nothing to conflict with only being able to fire one a weapon group once per unit per Shooting phase. As has been said, one weapon twice is not two weapons.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/02/28 00:00:44


 
   
Made in us
Assault Kommando




Flint, Mi

Lets also not forget that firing two weapons is not the only point of this rule, and it does still give additional benefits to the breacher that whey would normally not have. Such as quasi-relentless.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/03/01 18:53:33


 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

It's neither an oversight nor a mistake, GW routinely grant rules to units that are unusable or redundant. Tau has a model with two weapons and the ability to shoot 3 of those 2 weapons every turn, it can still only shoot the two. Yay, GW!

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: