Switch Theme:

Tigurius warlord trait question.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Hello,

I'm finding it difficult to interpret the wording for the warlord trait: Storm of Fire.

RaW: At the start of each of your Shooting phases nominate one friendly unit withint 12" of your Warlord that is drawn from the same Chapter as your Warlord. That unit's ranged weapons have the Rending special rule until the end of the turn.

My questions:

1, a, Can Tigurius target himself?
b, if he can, would a non ultramarine squad he is attached to gain rending?

2 a, Can Tigurius target an ultramarine independant character, other than himself, that is attached to a non ultramarine squad?
b, if so would the squad with the ultramarine character gain rending?

3, Alternatively could Tigurius target the entire squad of non ultramarines that contains an ultramarine independant character giving them all rending?

Thank you for any help!

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/03/01 05:52:16


 
   
Made in ca
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord






For everything except 1.A, whenever a unit has models from two different chapters together, their chapter tactics cancel each other out and count as being from neither chapter, so Tigurius would not be able to target them at all with this ability.

The specific quote is

" If a unit contains models drawn from two different Chapters, it counts as from neither Chapter, and thus benefits from neither Chapter Tactic"

As for whether or not Tigurius can target himself, I'm unsure. I completely forgot if it's possible or not, but I don't have the page reference memorized and can't be bothered to look it up atm.

Gwar! wrote:Huh, I had no idea Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines posted on Dakka. Hi Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines!!!!!!!!!!!!! Can I have an Autograph!


Kanluwen wrote:
Hell, I'm not that bothered by the Stormraven. Why? Because, as it stands right now, it's "limited use".When it's shoehorned in to the Codex: Space Marines, then yeah. I'll be irked.


When I'm editing alot, you know I have a gakload of homework to (not) do. 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

I think it's fairly commonly accepted that a model's unit counts as being within 12" of itself.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Thanks for the replys

@Mecha

Those seem like clear cut rules for combined space marine chapters. But I am specifically thinking of an ultramarine independent character attached to an imperial guard squad. Is there any mention of that?

@Mr. Shine.

Upon reading it again I think the language used does make it clear that Tigurius can be nominated. My confusion on that point was from reading it as Tiberius nominated one friendly unit as apposed to the player doing the nominating.

I'm also certain I could target another independent ultramarine character within 12" if he was on his own, just not sure how them being attached to an imperial guard squad would effect things.



This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/03/01 07:25:34


 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

electrobolt3 wrote:
I'm also certain I could target another independent ultramarine character within 12" if he was on his own, just not sure how them being attached to an imperial guard squad would effect things.


If joined to an Imperial Guard squad the Ultramarines character would count as part of the Imperial Guard unit for all rules purposes, so it certainly wouldn't be a unit drawn from the same chapter.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Makes sense, thanks for the help.
   
Made in us
Repentia Mistress





To clarify,

1. a, He can target a unit he is attached to
b, No, He can't target a unit that isn't completely drawn for Ultramarines

2a, No
B, No

hey what time is it?

"Try looking on page 12 of the FAQ."

-Ghaz 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: