Switch Theme:

Without Number  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Howdy again! 

I can't seem to find any threads on this, and I don't see a clear answer in the codex. (Though, admittedly, I could just be blind as a bat )

The "Without Number" rule indicates that when Gaunt brood come back at the beginning of the Tyranid player's turn, they are "moving" back onto the field.  The Synapse/Instinctive Behavior rules indicate that anytime a Brood wants to move, it must first check for a nearby Synpase creature, or roll based on Instinctive Behavior.

So my question is whether or not Broods that are eligible for w/o# (and therefore not on the table) are required to make the Instinctive Behavior roll to move onto the board.  If a Synapse creature is on the board, no problem, they Fallback towards the nearest Synapse creature.  However, if no Synapse creature is on the table, would they simply fail to move onto the field at all, or do we assume that twelve inches beyond the deployment edge, some Synpase creature exists to say "Yeah, go there"?
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


Only broods that are not within 12" of a synapse creature must take an IB test at the start of a turn. Since it is impossible to determine the location of a brood that is off the table, I don't see any reason they should have to take the test.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




More importantly, models off the board do not take leadership tests... period.

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: