| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/06 17:40:51
Subject: LD value "in place of their own" and modifiers
|
 |
!!Goffik Rocker!!
|
SM have a warlord trait:
All models in yours warlord Detachment can use his Leadership value in place of their own.
For example, we have Calgar and a space marine nearby. And a herley character with masque of secrets that gets -2 LD to models within 12".
What will happen when:
1. Marine has -2 modifier.
2. Calgar has -2 modifier.
3. Both Calgar and Marine have -2 modifier.
As i see it:
1. We take Calgar's ld for marine and get 10-2
2. Calgar has 10-2 atm, so getting his LD won't matter
3. Marine has 8-2. If he chooses to get Calgar's ld he'll have 10-2-2.
Though, the opponent argues that "in place of their own" can mean that a marine would get 8-2 and than put 10 in place of his own as 10 is the value in profile.
|
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2016/03/06 18:28:24
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/06 22:50:59
Subject: Re:LD value "in place of their own" and modifiers
|
 |
Stalwart Space Marine
|
Modifiers from the same ability/rule can never stack witht itself unless the rule specifically says so, so it should never be 10-2-2.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/07 03:21:46
Subject: LD value "in place of their own" and modifiers
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Right at the start of the rule book it talks about modifiers/swap outs.
IIrc the order of application is multipliers, +/- modifiers, then swap outs...
Seems a bit dodge though, since it would mean you could use characters that project their leadership onto other troops to allow them to ignore modifiers (say when using a hordey close combat tar pit).
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/07 08:15:03
Subject: LD value "in place of their own" and modifiers
|
 |
!!Goffik Rocker!!
|
nareik wrote:Right at the start of the rule book it talks about modifiers/swap outs.
IIrc the order of application is multipliers, +/- modifiers, then swap outs...
Seems a bit dodge though, since it would mean you could use characters that project their leadership onto other troops to allow them to ignore modifiers (say when using a hordey close combat tar pit).
it says that fixed numbers after all. Would LD be a fixed number in this case? Doubt it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/09 05:45:55
Subject: LD value "in place of their own" and modifiers
|
 |
!!Goffik Rocker!!
|
So, any other ideas? Automatically Appended Next Post: Lusiphur wrote:Modifiers from the same ability/rule can never stack witht itself unless the rule specifically says so, so it should never be 10-2-2.
That's a dodgy situation as they don't stack on the same unit but in this case, a unit may use the characteristics from another one that can be affected by the rule.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/03/09 05:46:44
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|