Switch Theme:

Mob Rule 7 or 8  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine





Looking through the threads, I haven't seen anything definitive about rolling 7 or 8 on mob rule. As far as I know every ork player has just assumed that a 7 or 8 (if using the Ghaz book) is treated like a 6, but that is definitely not RAW, and as far as I can see, it's not RAI either.

Why don't we all just say that if a 7 or 8 is rolled, the unit is pass the test with no ill effects?

This isn't a "proposed rule", this is something that the ork player simply states, then moves on.

It's not a dick move any more than another player saying that the 7 or 8 means anything else.

Why have we ork players just assumed that 7 or 8 is bad?
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





How are you rolling a 7 or 8 on 1d6?

The mob rule chart only has results from 1-6 because you only roll 1 dice for the chart once you fail your pinning or morale check. It's not an extra leadership check or something. Just 1 dice.

There is NO SUCH THING as MORE ADVANCED in 40k!!! There are ONLY 2 LEVELS of RULES: Basic and Advanced. THE END. Stop saying "More Advanced". That is not a recognized thing in modern 40k!!!!
2500
3400
2250
3500
3300 
   
Made in nl
Longtime Dakkanaut






 BetrayTheWorld wrote:
How are you rolling a 7 or 8 on 1d6?

The mob rule chart only has results from 1-6 because you only roll 1 dice for the chart once you fail your pinning or morale check. It's not an extra leadership check or something. Just 1 dice.


Nope you can get a 6+ result due to Ghazzys suplement.

RAW: no idea what happens.
My best guess use a result of a 6


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 JimOnMars wrote:


Why have we ork players just assumed that 7 or 8 is bad?


Lol ehm seen the rest of the codex and supplement; )

But seriously this could be a useful thing


Automatically Appended Next Post:
K, I gave it some more thought and this is what I would like to happen.

Your mob of orks screams: "SEGMENTATION FAULT !" gltches for a moment and continues as if nothing happened.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2016/03/11 03:55:13


Inactive, user. New profile might pop up in a while 
   
Made in us
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine





The main thing is that the ork players have been taking it "on the chin" (wanted to use a different metaphor) for the last year and a half, for absolutely no reason.

It's time they rest of the armies had their turn with this.
   
Made in nl
Longtime Dakkanaut






Took a look at the rule again : \

Mob rule: If the unit fails a moral or pinning test, roll immediately on the following table: [1..6]

The options in the table then override the failed moral test. I would say that if you don't override a failed test you just use the failed test.

I find it hard to see much wiggle room for this one. I would have loved it if they used the word "instead" in the mob rule rule.



This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/03/11 04:42:04


Inactive, user. New profile might pop up in a while 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

I think the simple fact of the matter is that there is no RAW to determine what a 7 or 8 result means, and I don't think there's any clear indication on what the RAI could be.

Best off discussing it with your opponent/gaming group/tournament organiser etc.
   
Made in sg
Sister Vastly Superior





Ork codex pg. 92 wrote:MOB RULE
If every model in a unit has this special rule, and the unit fails a Morale check or Pinning test (after any re-rolls they may have), roll immediately on the following table:

D6 Result
1 Born to fight:
If the unit is locked in combat, it is treated as if it had passed the Morale check or Pinning test. If the unit is not locked in combat, it fails the Morale check or Pinning test.

2-3 Breaking Heads:
If the unit includes one or more Ork characters (including independent characters,[. . .] and is treated as if it had passed the Morale check or Pinning test. [. . . ] If the unit does not include any Ork characters, it fails the Morale check or Pinning test.

4-6 Squabble:
If the unit has 10 or more models, [. . . ] and is then treated as if it had passed the Morale check or Pinning test. [. . .] If the unit has fewer than 10 models, it fails the Morale check or Pinning test.
Each of the mob rule results contain situations where the test is either passed or failed. If a 7 or 8 is rolled, no result from this table is applicable. I would assume this means that you would then progress to applying the normal rules for failing a Morale check or Pinning test.

Still waiting for Godot. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: