Switch Theme:

assault??  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in es
Longtime Dakkanaut





Hello, i have a little question.

What happens if in a unit, only one miniature can assault and the others can not?


Im asking beacuse in the new cult genestealer formation, the units of the formation, can attempt to charge on their first turn after using infiltrate.
If i join the patriarch in a unit of genestealers (tyranids codex) can assault with all the unit ?

I know that independent character in a unit is considered the same unit for all purposes and the speacial rules of the character does not extend to the unit, but he retains the rule.. so he can assault..

How is it done?

Thanks and sorry for my bad english.

   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

If the Patriarch joins a unit of Codex: Tyranid Genestealers, the unit is not a member of the formation, and as such does not have permission to assault.

If a Tyranid IC (such as the Tyranid Prime) gains the ability to Infiltrate and joins a unit from the formation...then you have the bickering in other threads that keep getting locked because people argue until they resort to being rude.

If, a Tyranid IC joins the unit Turn 1, then you should still be able to Assault, as the unit is given permission to assault, and the IC, having not infiltrated is not denied from assaulting.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

This is gonna give Tyranid ICs an additional 8" of charge distance on the first turn. That's pretty great.

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in nl
Longtime Dakkanaut






How I would play it.

IC with rule joint unit without that rule -> The whole Unit can't assault.
IC without that rule joint unit with that rule -> The whole Unit can assault

But there has been a lot of discussions about these sort of issues in the past.

Ps.
You might want to change the title to something more specific ; )

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/03/13 20:49:48


Inactive, user. New profile might pop up in a while 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





If its a formation bonus (which in this case it is) that only applies to units in the formation any characters who join that squad do not join the formation thus they do not get the rules of that formation. In this case it is reversed and now the IC is bringing the formation rules to the unit. Is the unit the Patriach joined part of the formation that provides the rule? No. The Patriach has a formation rule that means HE can charge, but I do not believe that carries over to the unit. He is not providing them with a standard ability like say relentless or slow and purposeful. He has a FORMATION bonus which I would argue never carries over to squads that are not part of that formation unless specifically stated.

If you have one unit in a model who can charge and one who cannot I would say they cannot charge as the unit cannot declare a charge as the one guy in it cannot make a charge.

The way I would play it is that only units in that formation can charge t1 after infiltrating and they do not convey that bonus to other units through any means. Essentially I would play it exactly like Skyhammer assault marines and ICs.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/03/13 21:57:45


 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 Elric Greywolf wrote:
This is gonna give Tyranid ICs an additional 8" of charge distance on the first turn. That's pretty great.

Getting that Tyranid IC close enough to pull that off will require assistance from your enemy. The enemy would need to be able to charge the Infiltrating unit in the first place. The IC would have to move to join the Genestealers (since he could not have Infiltrated to be close enough initially), which means the unit cannot move later.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: