| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/05/13 05:26:04
Subject: Transported Unit in a Squiggoth
|
 |
Mounted Kroot Tracker
|
Does anyone have any idea what happens to a unit being transported in a gargantuan squiggoth if the squiggoth is killed? I've checked the unit entry for the squiggoth and the forgeworld errata to no avail. I can only assume that the unit is left exactly where it was and the squiggoth is removed. Since there were no penetrating hits involved, then the unit would not suffer any negative effects, is this correct? - Oaka
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/05/13 15:06:09
Subject: RE: Transported Unit in a Squiggoth
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Were I to guess.. The squiggoth is a transport, so the people on it would have to test to be wounded just like any other destroyed transport. -Legacy40k
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/05/15 04:03:41
Subject: RE: Transported Unit in a Squiggoth
|
 |
Rampaging Chaos Russ Driver
|
I wouldnt think its so cut and dry. People get hurt when the vehicle explodes. A squiggoth shouldnt explode, although it could. I would think the entangled rule applies but the penetrating / glancing chart doesnt apply since it cannot be penetrated / glanced.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/05/15 16:19:39
Subject: RE: Transported Unit in a Squiggoth
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I think having a squiggoth falling on an ork could kill it. Not to mention all the weapons and amunition and such that the orks carry on one that are combustable.
-Legacy40k
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/05/17 08:41:44
Subject: RE: Transported Unit in a Squiggoth
|
 |
Dominating Dominatrix
|
I would say the Squiggoth falls down and the Orks get out relativly unharmed
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/05/17 08:53:30
Subject: RE: Transported Unit in a Squiggoth
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Correct me if I'm wrong, but doesn't the regular, non-forgeworld rules squiggoth no longer transport orcs?
|
"I've still got a job, so the rules must be good enough" - Design team motto. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/05/17 10:55:31
Subject: RE: Transported Unit in a Squiggoth
|
 |
Mounted Kroot Tracker
|
You are correct that the non-Forgeworld squiggoths no longer act as transports, but I'm interested in starting a feral ork army and the forgeworld model is just too huge and beastly to be only 150 or so points in my opinion. My gf has given me the go-ahead to buy the forgeworld model as my 'toy dolly' purchase of the year. Unfortunately, the forgeworld rules seem so unmanagable for what I want to use the model for- a transport.
For instance, what happens if I want to transport a unit of Madboyz in the squiggoth and they fail their crazy test while aboard it? And if the orks on board have a BS of 3, do they get to shoot the bolt-on big shootas on a 4+ or do they use the squiggoth (and natural Ork BS) of 2?
I'm trying to iron out all these details before I buy the models...
- Oaka
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/05/19 03:45:50
Subject: RE: Transported Unit in a Squiggoth
|
 |
Rampaging Chaos Russ Driver
|
I would imagine its the same as how marines and IG can ride in a rhino. When a marine fires out of the ports, its BS 4, when an IG does its BS 3. After re reading your posts I realized this applies less than I realized but you could just look at other carriers when they carry different troops.
Do squiggoths have a crew?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|