Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/19 21:34:42
Subject: Using Dedicated Transports for other units
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Hi, I don't have my rulebook with me at the moment. Left it god knows where :-(
If I have a Dedicated Transport Drop Pod (held in reserve...) can I put a unit inside it that the DT was not bought for?
So, you put Devastator Centurians inside a DT Pod for a Devastator Squad.
This is something I came across at a recent tournament and I couldn't find the specific entry that denies it in the rulebook.
Sorry if this has already been discussed here, if someone can direct me there or give me the page in the rulebook for next time.
Thanks
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/19 21:55:54
Subject: Using Dedicated Transports for other units
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
YMDC is for rules clarification, not a replacement for having and referring to a rulebook.
I would have thought you might be able to think of the likely answer to your question by wondering what purpose a transport would have being "dedicated" to a specific unit, though.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/19 21:57:04
Subject: Using Dedicated Transports for other units
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
No. It can only start the game carrying the unit it was bought for and any ICs
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/19 22:42:03
Subject: Using Dedicated Transports for other units
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Mr. Shine wrote:
YMDC is for rules clarification, not a replacement for having and referring to a rulebook.
I would have thought you might be able to think of the likely answer to your question by wondering what purpose a transport would have being "dedicated" to a specific unit, though.
Thanks for the unhelpfulness of your comment
Didn't think it was possible anyway, but the rules are not about what we think, but what it says Automatically Appended Next Post: Fragile wrote:No. It can only start the game carrying the unit it was bought for and any ICs
Thanks,
So, is deployment at the start of the game? Even if the model is not starting the game on the table?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/03/19 22:43:41
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/19 22:51:02
Subject: Using Dedicated Transports for other units
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
You were effectively asking this board to replace the rulebook, which is against board rules.
TauFireWarrior wrote:So, is deployment at the start of the game? Even if the model is not starting the game on the table?
It is before the start of the game, and normally the last thing to do before the game starts. Deployment is a specific section of game setup. You may be referring to "deploy", which is usually performed during deployment, but is also performed by anything Arriving From Reserves.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/03/19 22:51:20
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/19 23:21:01
Subject: Using Dedicated Transports for other units
|
 |
[MOD]
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Dakka isn't a replacement for a rulebook, thanks
|
I wish I had time for all the game systems I own, let alone want to own... |
|
 |
 |
|