Switch Theme:

Radium Carbines wounding T7 models  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Snivelling Workbot





Blacksburg, VA

I had an interesting problem come up this weekend in a friendly game. The short version is my Skitarii Vanguard shot radium carbines into a bunch of T7 gribblies.

Regular S3 weapons cannot actually wound T7, but radium weapons have that neat rule of a 'To Wound' roll of 6 causing 2 wounds, regardless of Toughness.

Now, my opponent argued that since S3 cannot wound T7, I literally do not get a 'To Wound' roll, meaning there's no chance for me to roll my lucky sixes.

That seems counter-intuitive to the flavor of the rule, but I can't find the way it should be RAW. Obviously, I would prefer to wound T7 twice on sixes.

I'm having trouble finding clarity on the matter. Can my dakka friends help me out?

Thank you!
   
Made in de
Experienced Maneater






The number indicated on the chart is the minimum result on a D6 needed to convert the hit into a Wound. A value of '-' indicates that the target cannot be wounded by the attack.


Nowhere does it say, that you stop your Shooting Sequence here. If your weapons would be S3 without any special rule, you still could insist on rolling your wound rolls. But you have a special rule, so roll To Wound as normal and only count the sixes per your special rule.
   
Made in ru
Longtime Dakkanaut



Moscow, Russia

Vanguard are very good against things like Wraithknights for this very reason.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Dragoons with radium jezzails are also very good against them, since any 6 also Rends.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/03/21 12:18:04


 
   
Made in us
Snivelling Workbot





Blacksburg, VA

Thank you folks, this was exactly my thinking. I appreciate the quick response!


   
Made in de
Witch Hunter in the Shadows



Aachen

 NobledukeofGork wrote:
Thank you folks, this was exactly my thinking. I appreciate the quick response!




Just to help with the argument: Rending works just the same: It always wounds on a 6, even if it couldn't normally. And a S3 Rending weapon is even capable of glancing and penetrating a vehicle, even though "naturally" it could only glance AV9 - but with a 6 you're looking at 10-12 as a result, so you can hurt most vehicles.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






What you are really looking at is that last line: .regardless of Toughness".

You have to roll a 6 to wound to get that effect and a 6 will wound anything that has a 6+ or better on the to-wound chart. So if you had to roll a 6 in order to wound anyways that bit of the rule would be useless.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: