Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/21 20:31:40
Subject: Ordnance Tyrant Questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I'm a bit confused on how this rule works:
1) He allows shooting into combat, but does the combat need to have friendly units in it, OR if you have let's say Necron Allies can you shoot into a combat that is all "enemies"?
2) To use the second ability, does the fun HAVE to have barrage AND blast? Does this mean strictly Wyverns and Thudd Guns to shoot into melee? Or can Medusas/Earthshakes do so?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/21 20:37:04
Subject: Ordnance Tyrant Questions
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
1) Yes it needs to have friendly models in close combat because its an addition to the "place blast over friendly models" rule, being able to shoot into close combat is not a separate rule. As such you can only shoot into combat with a battle brother
2) It says Blast special rule, not Blast (as in the the size). So if if it has barrage and uses a blast marker it works such as the Earthshaker (Medusas don't have barrage)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/21 20:48:53
Subject: Ordnance Tyrant Questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
CrownAxe wrote:1) Yes it needs to have friendly models in close combat because its an addition to the "place blast over friendly models" rule, being able to shoot into close combat is not a separate rule. As such you can only shoot into combat with a battle brother
2) It says Blast special rule, not Blast (as in the the size). So if if it has barrage and uses a blast marker it works such as the Earthshaker (Medusas don't have barrage)
Followup on 1)
So you have to actually hit one of your own models to make this work? Or can it just be a battle brother in combat, but you can place the template freely?
Also:
3) What does non-compulsory mean in reference to the thudd guns? Does it mean they can be taken in the troops slots (but don't have to be). OR, does it mean you have to take two troops AND you can take thudd guns as troops?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/21 20:52:29
Subject: Ordnance Tyrant Questions
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Breazeal wrote: CrownAxe wrote:1) Yes it needs to have friendly models in close combat because its an addition to the "place blast over friendly models" rule, being able to shoot into close combat is not a separate rule. As such you can only shoot into combat with a battle brother
2) It says Blast special rule, not Blast (as in the the size). So if if it has barrage and uses a blast marker it works such as the Earthshaker (Medusas don't have barrage)
Followup on 1)
So you have to actually hit one of your own models to make this work? Or can it just be a battle brother in combat, but you can place the template freely?
Also:
3) What does non-compulsory mean in reference to the thudd guns? Does it mean they can be taken in the troops slots (but don't have to be). OR, does it mean you have to take two troops AND you can take thudd guns as troops?
1. It just has to be a friendly model (meaning either from the same detachment, faction, or battle brother).
3. In detachments that use FOC slots (such as the CAD), there are normally required choices, and optional choices. If the Thudd Guns are non-compulsory troops, it means they are a troop choice, but do not count towards the minimum number of Troops you have to take (so in a CAD you would have to take 2 troop choices that are not a Thudd Guns).
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/21 22:34:50
Subject: Re:Ordnance Tyrant Questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Pretty sure its independent guys:
two clauses at work
1) You MAY target your own units so long as the template hole is fully over an enemy model
2) You MAY shoot into combat with an enemy unit, but don't have to. (and this is independent of the friendly clause, just happens to be in the same paragraph.
I believe this is how it was ruled at ITC, getting clarification now.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/21 22:36:51
Subject: Ordnance Tyrant Questions
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
How is it independent when its in parentheses in the sentance of the rule?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/21 22:41:34
Subject: Ordnance Tyrant Questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
CrownAxe wrote:How is it independent when its in parentheses in the sentance of the rule?
Because may gives permission to put it over a friendly. In this permissive case, should you choose may not, you can center it over an enemy model and have the parenthetical take affect (electing not take hit a friendly).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/21 22:43:35
Subject: Ordnance Tyrant Questions
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
But it draw context directly from the rule. It can't be independent because then ti doesn't function at all.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/24 14:11:18
Subject: Ordnance Tyrant Questions
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Normally you can place the blaster marker freely except that you can't cover friendly models or models in combat.
If a qualifying friendly model fires a suitable weapon then you may cover friendly models as long as you centre on an enemy model who may be in combat.
You can't centre on an enemy model in combat unless you cover s friendly model. Bit odd but most of the time those two will go together.
Definitely needs a houserule for games with three or more sides.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/03/24 14:14:18
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/29 02:34:06
Subject: Ordnance Tyrant Questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Is the Ordnance Tyrant and similar devotions a specific wargear that takes its benefits away if the Arch demigogue dies?
Or is Ordanace Tyrant and similar devotion an army rule that remains in play even if the Arch demigogue dies?
For example can I still place blast templates on on my enemies and still clip my own models if the Arch demigogue is already slain?
Do the salted earth still remain in play if the arch demigogue is dead.
Do I still get shred with flamers and barrage weapons if the arch demigogue is dead?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/03/29 02:34:27
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/29 02:52:32
Subject: Ordnance Tyrant Questions
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Grief wrote:For example can I still place blast templates on on my enemies and still clip my own models if the Arch demigogue is already slain?
Given that the rule requires the firer to be within 12" of him, that seems unlikely.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/29 16:36:20
Subject: Ordnance Tyrant Questions
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Grief wrote:Is the Ordnance Tyrant and similar devotions a specific wargear that takes its benefits away if the Arch demigogue dies?
Or is Ordanace Tyrant and similar devotion an army rule that remains in play even if the Arch demigogue dies?
For example can I still place blast templates on on my enemies and still clip my own models if the Arch demigogue is already slain?
Do the salted earth still remain in play if the arch demigogue is dead.
Do I still get shred with flamers and barrage weapons if the arch demigogue is dead?
As insaniak noted, the benefits of Ordnance Tyrant require the WL to be within 12" of the firing unit, and if he is dead, this naturally becomes impossible.
Salted Earth and Chem Flamers (Forbidden Munitions) are Detachment bonuses from The Purge, which is an entirely different thing that doesn't require an Ordnance Tyrant Demagogue. It can even be ran by CSM and get the same benefits. Nothing directly to do with a Demagogue, regardless of devotion.
|
|
 |
 |
|