Switch Theme:

Would Deathmarks getting back into night scythe, allow a second deep strike?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Ute nation

So I was reading the ITC rules, and an odd thought occured to me:
1.) ITC allows a unit to re-embark unto a night scythe if it's their dedicated transport.
2.) Deathmarks can take a night scythe as a dedicated transport
3.) A unit embarked on a night scythe is placed in reserves.
4.) Deathmarks can arrive via deep strike from reserves on the opponents turn.
5.) since the night scythe is part of the unit, it should also arrive at the same time, probably placed on the edge of the table.
6.) On your turn the night scythe flys to the deathmarks and they board.
7.) Death marks are placed back in reserves.
8.) On opponents turn, do another counter deep strike, or on your next turn deep strike again.
9.) profit???

Currently Deathmarks earn their points on their first shooting phase, giving them another chance could make them more worth while, but I'm not sure if the 130pt transport is too much of an investment.


Constantly being negative doesn't make you seem erudite, it just makes you look like a curmudgeon.  
   
Made in us
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker





Unfortunately that's not quite correct. A unit embarked in a dedicated transport while is "Off the table" it's not placed in reserves as you explained. They're in the transport not Reserves. You shoot down the Scythe and it crashes they pop back out, assuming some of them survive.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Dallas area, TX

Spiritfox22 wrote:
Unfortunately that's not quite correct. A unit embarked in a dedicated transport while is "Off the table" it's not placed in reserves as you explained. They're in the transport not Reserves. You shoot down the Scythe and it crashes they pop back out, assuming some of them survive.

Kinda. Night Scyhtes have a special rule that if the Night Scythe is destoyred, the unit inside goes back into Reserves with no damage dealt

The reason it would not work as the OP suggestions is because the unit goes into "Ongoing Reserves" when the Scythe is destroyed, not "Deep Strike Reserves". In order to Deep Strike, you must be in Deep Strike Reserve by deploying there at the beginning of the game.

   
 
Forum Index » 40K General Discussion
Go to: