Switch Theme:

Formations and Force Organisation Chart Exceptions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





I'm just wondering how units that don't take up a slot in the Force Organisation Chart are treated when it comes to Formations. Two examples are the Tyranid Hive Vanguard Formation and Tyrant Guard units. There's no room for Tyrant Guards on the Formation datasheet, but there is a Hive Tyrant and according to the Codex I can give it up to three Tyrant Guards. Likewise an Eldar Aspect Host Formation can take Wave Serpents as Dedicated Transports. This seems a little more clear cut, but in the case of the Aspect Host units within the Formation receive a special rule that gives +1 to either WS or BS. I've heard that extends to any Wave Serpents, but it seems just as likely that since it's not technically on the chart it wouldn't receive the bonus.
I've been looking all over the Eldar Craftworld's Codex and core rulebook and can't find anything to clarify. Can anyone provide me with book names/page numbers that will clear this up?
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

Check 'Force Organisation Charts and Slots' in the Choosing Your Army section of the rulebook. There's a paragraph about army list entries/units that do not use force organisation slots (as well as one for dedicated transports, which fall into the same category of not taking up force organisation slots).
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Formations are a special type of detachments that tell you exactly which unit entries comprise the formation. Some unit entries allow access to other unit entries; those other entries are allowed in a formation unless there is a restriction against it in the formation restrictions(as long as the "parent unit" is specified).

The baseline rules for detatchments in the brb are in reference to foc detachments.

So hiveguard cannot go into the nid formation that they are not a part of. Dedicated transports, or all the various elements of a Guard infantry platoon are allowed.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: