Switch Theme:

Eating Independent characters  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Potent Possessed Daemonvessel





Why Aye Ya Canny Dakkanaughts!

If anyone has ever read the Corbax daemon from forgeworld you will know of his Gaping Maw rule which means any roles of a 5 or 6 have instant death to show that they have been eaten whole. This is a re-think of the idea of being eaten whole.

(to make it simpler assume that the name of the model with this rule is creature)
Gaping Maw -
If a model with this rule is in base contact with an IC (the IC must be infantry) they may attempt to eat said IC whole. Whilst rolling to wound keep any to wound roles of a 6 seperate, armour/invulnerable/FnP saves for these roles are to be made seperately after all other attacks from the creature are resolved. If the IC fails their saves for these 6's then the creature who made the attack can choose to either: reduce the model's wounds by 1, or eat the model. If the model is eaten, the IC is removed from combat and counts as going into ongoing reserve. Each turn the IC may attempt to escape by making a reserve roll, however these rolls only pass on a 5+ for every turn. If the reserve roll is passed then the IC is placed within base contact of the creature that ate them and counts as being in cc, the IC also gains hatred against the creature that ate them. If, at the end of the game, the IC has failed to make their reserve roles they are assumed to be digested and therefore destroyed when deciding VP.
-Firing at a creature with an IC inside them: Any wounds which are saved by the creature do not effect the IC, however if a wound isn't saved then it is also counted as hitting the IC. (May discourage people from firing everything at the creature in order to save their precious IC.
- Killing a creature with an IC inside them: If the creature is killed then the IC may be placed within base contact of the creature before it is removed.

I thought it might be a fun little addition to some larger but less used models to give people a reason to take them, if only to see the look on your opponents face when your creature eats their model whole.

Opinions on the rule is encourage. Also I would like to here suggestions on which models should get such a rule or whether a new model could be created to have the rule.

Ghorros wrote:
The moral of the story: Don't park your Imperial Knight in a field of Gretchin carrying power tools.
 Marmatag wrote:
All the while, my opponent is furious, throwing his codex on the floor, trying to slash his wrists with safety scissors.
 
   
Made in us
Unshakeable Grey Knight Land Raider Pilot





I think a 'swallow whole' attack might be better defined if it attacked a different stat. Something like this:

"May make a special 'swallow' attack at Initiative 1. Choose a non-Bulky model in base contact. Roll a d6 and add this model's weapon skill, and roll a d6 and add it to the chosen model's Initiative. If the swallowing model's total is higher, the chosen model is swallowed. Take it off the table and place it to the side.

At initiative two of the next fight sub phase, even if the swallowing model is not engaged, swallowed models take d6 hits with the swallowing model's strength and AP2. At initiative one swallowed models may attack the creature that swallowed them, with their attacks characteristic halved to represent the constricting confines.

If the swallowing model is ever slain, place any swallowed models it had as close as possible to it's base before removing it from the field."

A litte (a lot) wordy, but it gets the idea across. And more importantly, it lets you have cool stomach fights!
   
Made in gb
Lethal Lhamean




Birmingham

Honestly I'd just use the Red Terror's Swallow Hole special rule instead, where a number of successful To Hit rolls equal to the number of base attacks in close combat allow you to choose a model you're engaged with and remove it from play.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K Proposed Rules
Go to: