Switch Theme:

Dark Reaper Exarch, Fast Shot and the Plasma Obliterator!  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User



London

Good Afternoon Dakka

This situation arose at a local tournament game today. Can a Dark Reaper Exarch use his Fast Shot ability to fire the Plasma Obliterator weapon twice per turn?
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

"A model with this special rule always fires one more shot than is normal for its weapon."

Is the plasma obliterator the model's weapon? Some argue that simply using it makes it the model's weapon for the purposes of that shooting attack, while some argue the model never possesses the weapon and simply using it is not enough for it to be the model's weapon.
   
Made in ca
Foolproof Falcon Pilot




Ontario, Canada

I would allow the Reaper to fire the extra shot because of the last sentence under "Manual Fire" on page 112. "All relevant special rules from the firing model and the weapon are used."

While this doesn't prove that the Plasma Obliterator is "its weapon", I feel that it argues RAI that the model's special rules relating to shooting are meant to be used when firing emplaced weapons.

Similarly, I would allow a gargantuan creature firing an emplaced weapon to fire it at a different target than it's other weapons if it wished. The wording is similar - "it may fire each of its weapons at a different target if desired".

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/04/23 17:08:27


 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 Mr. Shine wrote:
"A model with this special rule always fires one more shot than is normal for its weapon."

If this is the proper quote, no, the Plasma Obliterator cannot be fired twice in a turn, however, it can generate two shots if it normally fires one, three shots if it normally fires two, etc.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in ca
Swift Swooping Hawk





Yes it works, always worked.

@Bojazz is correct

It is one of the main reason why my exarch is the one manning the Lascannon in an Aegis Defense line or Imperial Bunker.

When using manual fire, the models special rules apply. Since Fast Shot is a rule on the model and not a piece of wargear or special rule from the weapon (like sniper weapons for exemple), it will apply to whatever weapon the model is firing.

Yes I agree it is a totally dick move to have a Reaper Exarch manning the Plasma Obliterator BUT it is still a legal move.

   
Made in gb
Stalwart Dark Angels Space Marine



London

Have a look at the aquila stronghold's guns :> 3 large blast BS5/6 D shots. And you can hide behind it so can't be shot to pieces easily. (oh and reaper range finder is on the model and not the missile launcher, so thats conferred as well).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/04/25 12:41:52


 
   
Made in us
Rampaging Carnifex





Fredericksburg, Virginia

Trazer985 wrote:
Have a look at the aquila stronghold's guns :> 3 large blast BS5/6 D shots. And you can hide behind it so can't be shot to pieces easily. (oh and reaper range finder is on the model and not the missile launcher, so thats conferred as well).


The model is doing the firing. So does the model need line of sight to shoot at a target?

6000+
2500
2000
2000
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Zimko wrote:
Trazer985 wrote:
Have a look at the aquila stronghold's guns :> 3 large blast BS5/6 D shots. And you can hide behind it so can't be shot to pieces easily. (oh and reaper range finder is on the model and not the missile launcher, so thats conferred as well).


The model is doing the firing. So does the model need line of sight to shoot at a target?


I would say yes, I treat emplaced weapons much like artillery which have the requirement that both the firing model and the weapon itself be able to draw LoS to the target.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: