Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/04/27 07:04:10
Subject: White Scars Stormlance Demi Company, are dedicated transports part of the formation?
|
 |
Repentia Mistress
|
If the answer is yes they would get to move d6 after they shoot and also get to reroll their shots vs. units holding objectives. Not game breaking but certainly useful. Are dedicated transports part of their mother units formation? If no, where do they come from? If yes, could I move my transport 6 inches and fire its weapons? Then move d6 more and disembark 6'' more and then fire my squads weapons and get back in with a d6?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/04/27 07:05:39
hey what time is it?
"Try looking on page 12 of the FAQ."
-Ghaz |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/04/27 07:23:34
Subject: White Scars Stormlance Demi Company, are dedicated transports part of the formation?
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
To the topic title, yes. See the section called "Army List Entries That Do Not Use Force Organisation Slots" in the Detachment overview of "Choosing Your Army" for more information. General Formation rules really do nothing to change this (though specific Formation Restrictions or Special Rules might).
I cannot answer the other question as I do not have the detachment information, but it would be largely dependent on what the rule targets (non-Vehicle versus any unit) and what type of movement it calls for (basic move of D6, Running, Turbo-boosting, Flat Out, etc).
But Embarking and Disembarking is not a Transport action and normally restricted to the Movement Phase. Wrecking your Vehicle during your Shooting Phase WOULD allow them to Disembark, though
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/04/27 08:10:42
Subject: White Scars Stormlance Demi Company, are dedicated transports part of the formation?
|
 |
Repentia Mistress
|
The Stormlance rules specifically let my units move d6 after they shoot and then embark if they are within 2'' of their dedicated.
It doesn't specify, just units.
|
hey what time is it?
"Try looking on page 12 of the FAQ."
-Ghaz |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/04/27 08:33:14
Subject: White Scars Stormlance Demi Company, are dedicated transports part of the formation?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
As long as it is a "normal" move, then it can be done
In the shooting phase you cannot disembark (normally) so would have to move 6", disembark, then both units can shoot and move the extra amount.
However, check it does not require the models to be Ravenguard models. If it doesn, then they MUST have the CHapter Tactics rule. Automatically Appended Next Post: As long as it is a "normal" move, then it can be done
In the shooting phase you cannot disembark (normally) so would have to move 6", disembark, then both units can shoot and move the extra amount.
However, check it does not require the models to be Ravenguard models. If it doesn, then they MUST have the CHapter Tactics rule in order to benefit.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/04/27 08:33:25
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/04/27 08:35:13
Subject: White Scars Stormlance Demi Company, are dedicated transports part of the formation?
|
 |
Witch Hunter in the Shadows
Aachen
|
The rule reads as follows:
Other units from this Formation can move D6'' immediately after they shoot in the Shooting phase and may embark on their Dedicated Transport if all their models end this move within 2'' of one of its Access Points, even if they disembarked ion the same turn.
The "other units" refers to anything that is not equipped with a bike or jump packs.
Haven't looked at it this way, but yeah - they're clearly able to move the D6''.
On the disembarkation:
A unit that begins its Movement phase embarked upon a vehicle can disembark either before or after the vehicle has moved (...)
So no, you can't disembark in the way you described - only by having the transport destroyed, as Charistoph pointed out.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
nosferatu1001 wrote:However, check it does not require the models to be Ravenguard models. If it doesn, then they MUST have the CHapter Tactics rule in order to benefit.
It was introduced as a White Scars thingy (but yeah, also from Kauyon), and it's not chapter-specific nor does it require Chapter Tactics - see my quote above.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2016/04/27 08:37:21
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/04/27 09:16:42
Subject: White Scars Stormlance Demi Company, are dedicated transports part of the formation?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Fair enough  Im in Munich so a little far from my books (but, from the 4-cylinder can see the Alps, just, so its not all bad)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/04/27 09:20:31
Subject: White Scars Stormlance Demi Company, are dedicated transports part of the formation?
|
 |
Witch Hunter in the Shadows
Aachen
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Fair enough  Im in Munich so a little far from my books (but, from the 4-cylinder can see the Alps, just, so its not all bad)
Enjoy your stay there! I hope the weather is better than up here in Aachen (frigging snow and icy roads and it's nearly May, ffs). Are you touring the BMW or working for them?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/04/27 09:20:58
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/04/27 09:25:09
Subject: White Scars Stormlance Demi Company, are dedicated transports part of the formation?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Work for them  Mentioned to my colleagues how much I liked Munich, end up ona job out here
It was fantastic last week, 20C, but we've again had snow today, same since Monday!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/04/27 09:36:16
Subject: White Scars Stormlance Demi Company, are dedicated transports part of the formation?
|
 |
Witch Hunter in the Shadows
Aachen
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Work for them  Mentioned to my colleagues how much I liked Munich, end up ona job out here
It was fantastic last week, 20C, but we've again had snow today, same since Monday!
Yeah, I also love Munich, especially in the Summer - sitting in the Biergarten after work is just great, and the beer itself is much better than the slightly-flavoured Rhine water from Cologne ;-)
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/04/27 09:36:29
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/04/27 10:27:49
Subject: White Scars Stormlance Demi Company, are dedicated transports part of the formation?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The Muncheners definitely are proud of their beer
Walking through the Englischegarten is also nice, really calm and tranquil place!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/04/27 18:51:00
Subject: White Scars Stormlance Demi Company, are dedicated transports part of the formation?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Of course, this whole thing is pre-supposing that formations can take dedicated transports. Which I believe they can. But there are those who argue that they cannot. But not me.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/04/27 19:47:52
Subject: White Scars Stormlance Demi Company, are dedicated transports part of the formation?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
I have never seen that argument.
It is also instantly refuted via a number of formations that have a restriction stating you must take DTs(such as the stormlance demi company)
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/04/27 19:49:27
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/04/27 21:05:29
Subject: White Scars Stormlance Demi Company, are dedicated transports part of the formation?
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:I have never seen that argument.
It is also instantly refuted via a number of formations that have a restriction stating you must take DTs(such as the stormlance demi company)
Or those who specify a specific Dedicated Transport like the Skyhammer Annihilation Force's Devastators.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/04/27 21:31:47
Subject: White Scars Stormlance Demi Company, are dedicated transports part of the formation?
|
 |
Repentia Mistress
|
It doesn't explicitly say you have to buy dedicated transports for the storm lance but it does say that your infantry models MUST start the game embarked in a dedicated transport.
I'd say that gives pretty strong precedence for being able to purchase vehicles.
|
hey what time is it?
"Try looking on page 12 of the FAQ."
-Ghaz |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/04/28 02:50:39
Subject: White Scars Stormlance Demi Company, are dedicated transports part of the formation?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Aijec wrote:It doesn't explicitly say you have to buy dedicated transports for the storm lance but it does say that your infantry models MUST start the game embarked in a dedicated transport.
I'd say that gives pretty strong precedence for being able to purchase vehicles.
Christoph had the Better example(Explicit Devastators must take Drop pods), I was just in a hurry and used the Thread Title formation as an Example; but as I also said: there are many.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/04/28 03:25:23
Subject: White Scars Stormlance Demi Company, are dedicated transports part of the formation?
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Aijec wrote:It doesn't explicitly say you have to buy dedicated transports for the storm lance but it does say that your infantry models MUST start the game embarked in a dedicated transport.
I'd say that gives pretty strong precedence for being able to purchase vehicles.
Especially since Dedicated Transports may only be purchased as a slotless unit option for the unit in question.
All good examples.
After all, how you can you start the game Embarked in your Dedicated Transport if you do not have a Dedicated Transport ( ICs being a noted exception)?
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/04/28 04:16:03
Subject: White Scars Stormlance Demi Company, are dedicated transports part of the formation?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Actually it says nothing about taking DTs at all.
It Says Any non-vehicle units from this Formation that are not equipped with jump packs or Space Marine bikes must start the game embarked on a Rhino or a Razorback.
there is some subtle differences here.
1) A drop pod is a DT listed for each of the Army List Entries specified(other than Bike Squad, Attack Bike Squad, and Land Speeders; but then they are all exampt from the restriction anyways).
2) The Restriction does not actually say the units Must purchase a rhino or Razorback; but the only other way to start the game embarked upon them is to purchase them in multiple CADs or ADs as Fast attack, currently.
Exact RAW aside though, the Stormlance is pretty much requiring you to buy them as part of the formation; and mobile Firebase has a section of Benefit that only functions with DTs.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/04/28 07:30:43
Subject: White Scars Stormlance Demi Company, are dedicated transports part of the formation?
|
 |
Witch Hunter in the Shadows
Aachen
|
Charistoph wrote: Aijec wrote:It doesn't explicitly say you have to buy dedicated transports for the storm lance but it does say that your infantry models MUST start the game embarked in a dedicated transport.
I'd say that gives pretty strong precedence for being able to purchase vehicles.
Especially since Dedicated Transports may only be purchased as a slotless unit option for the unit in question.
All good examples.
After all, how you can you start the game Embarked in your Dedicated Transport if you do not have a Dedicated Transport ( ICs being a noted exception)?
Add a CAD, grab Drop Pods as Fast Attack. Or are you asking specifically for a Dedicated Transport, not just any Transport?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/04/28 07:31:13
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/04/28 12:32:58
Subject: White Scars Stormlance Demi Company, are dedicated transports part of the formation?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Drop pods wont work: they have to be embarked on rhinos or Razorbacks(both also fast attack slots in a CAD).
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/04/28 15:59:55
Subject: White Scars Stormlance Demi Company, are dedicated transports part of the formation?
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
nekooni wrote: Charistoph wrote: Aijec wrote:It doesn't explicitly say you have to buy dedicated transports for the storm lance but it does say that your infantry models MUST start the game embarked in a dedicated transport.
I'd say that gives pretty strong precedence for being able to purchase vehicles.
Especially since Dedicated Transports may only be purchased as a slotless unit option for the unit in question.
All good examples.
After all, how you can you start the game Embarked in your Dedicated Transport if you do not have a Dedicated Transport ( ICs being a noted exception)?
Add a CAD, grab Drop Pods as Fast Attack. Or are you asking specifically for a Dedicated Transport, not just any Transport?
While the Kommissar has presented a different read of the rule, I was specifically addressing the need to be in a Dedicated Transport.
Obviously, if you only need to be in specific Transports, and not a Dedicated Transport, it does change things around. Heck, if you are limited to Rhinos and Razorbacks, you can't take Centurions and Terminators (assuming they were even an option).
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/13 09:58:33
Subject: White Scars Stormlance Demi Company, are dedicated transports part of the formation?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Centurions and Terminators are not options.
Combined with IH Fist of Medusa, a Razorback containing an IC can move 12", shoot with PotMS then move d6". (I think...) Zippy!
From the wording, I doubt it was intended to apply to vehicles, but as written it definitely does.
Just a shame that it is so hard to fit Techmarines into a Fist of Medusa detachment. Oh the Irony (Hands)...
|
|
 |
 |
|