Switch Theme:

Renegades and Heretics 'Master of Renegades' rule and multiple detachments.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Dispassionate Imperial Judge






HATE Club, East London

Confusion!!

So, I'm building a list using Renegades and Heretics. I have the regular Renegades and Heretics list, or the slightly different Renegades of Vraks version to pick from. There is a difference in the Master of Renegades rule between these two:

Renegades of Vraks wrote:If the Primary Detachment of an army includes an Arch-Demagogue as its Warlord, then certain additional units are available to the army based on which Chaos Covenant the player has selected:

Covenant of Nurgle - The army may include 0-1 unit of Blight Drones as an Elites choice and Plague Zombie units as Troops choices.


Renegades and Heretics wrote:If the Primary Detachment of an army includes an Arch-Demagogue as its Warlord, then certain additional units are available to the army based on which Chaos Covenant the player has selected:

Covenant of Nurgle - The army may include a single unit of Blight Drones as an Elites choice and/or a single unit of Plague Zombies as a Troops choice.


Looks like Vraks has a lot of Plague Zombies.

1 - Let's say I have a Renegades of Vraks Primary Detachment CAD with the Covenant of Nurgle. If I then include another Renegades of Vraks CAD, do they get access to Plague Zombies? The rule makes a pretty clear distinction between Detachment and 'the army', so it sounds like they do. This seems to make sense as the second CAD's Arch-Demagogue can't actually take Master of Renegades, since he's not the Warlord. Anyone agree/disagree?

2 - Let's say I have a Renegades of Vraks Primary Detachment CAD with the Covenant of Nurgle. If I then include a Renegades and Heretics CAD, do they get access to Plague Zombies? And do they get access to loads of them, or just one squad?

3 - Let's say I have a Renegades of Vraks Primary Detachment CAD with the Covenant of Nurgle. If I then include a Chaos Space Marine CAD, do they get access to Plague Zombies? I mean, the rule just says that the whole army has access to them, not just the Defenders of Vraks detachment!!





..

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2016/04/30 14:15:34


   
Made in us
Primered White





1. Yes, the "army" is allowed to take multiple plague zombie units, so detachments that have slots for plague zombies can take them.

2. Yes, but not because just the Renegades of Vraks rule is satisfied, but because both "Master of Renegades" rules are satisfied. Thus you may have an indefinite number of Plague Zombie units from the Renegades of Vraks faction in your Renegades of Vraks detachments, and a single Plague Zombie unit with the Renegades and Heretics faction in one of your Renegades and Heretics detachments.

I know this is complicated, so here is what informs my interpretation: I would interpret the Master of Renegades rule in each book to specifically refer to the army list entry in the respective books, which are separate and distinct, even though they share a name. They're two different units that happen to share the same name, and slightly different restrictions apply to each of them, though the same trigger (Arch-demagogue of Nurgle) permits each of them. Imagine if the two units were named different things: "Zombies of Vraks" and "Renegade Zombies" respectively. The rules would look like this:

If the Primary Detachment of an army includes an Arch-Demagogue as its Warlord, then certain additional units are available to the army based on which Chaos Covenant the player has selected:

Covenant of Nurgle - The army may include 0-1 unit of Blight Drones as an Elites choice and Zombies of Vraks units as Troops choices.



If the Primary Detachment of an army includes an Arch-Demagogue as its Warlord, then certain additional units are available to the army based on which Chaos Covenant the player has selected:

Covenant of Nurgle - The army may include a single unit of Blight Drones as an Elites choice and/or a single unit of Plague Zombies as a Troops choice.


See how that clarifies things? The two rules clearly must be referring to their own army list entries. Imagine if Tyranids had an army list entry called "Plague Zombies" with some restriction. Clearly it's not referring to that, since it's in a different book, right? Perhaps others will disagree with me, but that's how I make sense of it. It's just confusion because RoV and RaH are so similar.

3. "Army" doesn't mean any specific detachment, it means the whole army. The army can include plague zombies. That does not change the faction rules or create any other allowances that did not previously exist other than what was specifically stated. They are still from a different faction, so they cannot be placed in the CSM CAD. Any Renegades of Vraks detachments that have appropriate slots can take them.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/05/01 02:17:32


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: