Switch Theme:

Dangerous Terrain Overlap  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block




In cases where two areas of dangerous terrain overlap, do they create one larger area of dangerous terrain, or does each count as a single instance for models passing through both areas simultaneously?

Specifically, the dangerous terrain rules state:

Dangerous Terrain follows all the rules for difficult terrain - you've got to watch your step! In addition, each model must take a Dangerous Terrain teest as soon as it enters, leaves, or moves within dangerous terrain.

Dangerous Terrain Tests: To take a Dangerous Terrain test, roll a D6. On a result of 1, that model suffers a Wound. The model may take an armor or invulnerable save, but not a cover save, against this Wound.

Once a model has taken a Dangerous Terrain test for a particular scenery model, it does not test for that terrain again in the same phase. However, if the model moves into a different area of dangerous terrain, this must be tested for as normal.


Imperial Armour: Siege of Vraks gives us the Purge detachment, which grants the command benefit Salt the Earth..

Salt the Earth states:

Salt the Earth: When a model from this Detachment fires a Barrage weapon with the Blast type, leave the template in place after resolving all damage from the attack until the beginning of the cntrolling player's next turn. The area under the template is considered dangerous terrain by all models.


Taking these two rules together, if a model moves across multiple templates left in place, would they take a test for each template they cross, or only when there is a gap between templates? Why?
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

In general, Terrain is set up as you and your opponent see fit, so two otherwise normal pieces of modeled Dangerous Terrain set up before Deployment will be whatever is agreed on..

However, in the case above, it would only be treated as two separate pieces of Dangerous Terrain that just happen to have similar borders, or one inside the other. The new one the marker indicates is still considered "a different area of Dangerous Terrain", and so still following that procedure.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




So, if I am understanding you correctly, a model would be expected to take a dangerous terrain test for each overlapping template it passes over? Two tests for two overlapping templates, seven tests for an area where seven overlap, and so forth?
   
Made in us
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch






If you overlap 7 templates on an area the area under the 7 is considered dangerous terrain. If you have 1 its considered dangerous terrain.

Its not 7 different types of dangerous terrain.

So in short, no.

Aftermath can be calculated.

Dark humor is like food, not everyone gets it.  
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




So, Charistoph is incorrect, and each template is not a different area of dangerous terrain?

Edit: The rules also don't mention anything about types of terrain, only areas of terrain.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/05/02 07:23:05


 
   
Made in us
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch






Yes, area is an area of the table. In a given region on a table there cannot be more than one area (I suppose the exception would be levels).

Now, if you space 7 template each 1 inch a part and a unit moves through all 7, that would be 7 dangerous terrain checks, As long as the templates are not touching in any way, therefore forming a single area.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/05/02 07:49:16


Aftermath can be calculated.

Dark humor is like food, not everyone gets it.  
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




It doesn't say "area of the table" it says "area of dangerous terrain." The area of the dangerous terrain is defined by the boundary of the template. Do you have any support in the rules for merging the boundaries of the templates?

The rules likely didn't consider the potential for overlapping areas either, which is why we're here in the first place.
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 Lord Commissar wrote:
Yes, area is an area of the table. In a given region on a table there cannot be more than one area (I suppose the exception would be levels).

Now, if you space 7 template each 1 inch a part and a unit moves through all 7, that would be 7 dangerous terrain checks, As long as the templates are not touching in any way, therefore forming a single area.

But we are also talking about 7 "pieces" of Dangerous Terrain being set up. In normal situations, if two pieces of Dangerous Terrain overlap while setting it up, they can be easily be considered to be one "piece of Dangerous Terrain. However, this is being setup after the fact. Also, as Mini pointed out, there is no indications that multiple placements in the same turn would merge in to one area, so would still be 7 areas. Indeed, aside from focusing fire on one spot and rolling the equivalent of Hits, it would be difficult for all 7 to be in the same spot.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






You take a dangerous terrain test as soon as you enter, exit, or move within dangerous terrain.

If 2 or more areas of dangerous terrain perfectly overlap for exiting and entering then it does not matter how many areas you are entering or exiting. The same goes for moving within multiple areas that are overlapping.

If you are starting in 1 area and moving within that area into another overlapping area, you are entering a new area and have to take another test. Same for starting in multiple and exiting 1(or more perfectly overlapped).

If 2 overlap in such a way that your move would have you start moving within 1, enter a new one, and then exit the first; you will have to take 3 tests. Multiple staggered like this will have you test for each one entered and or exited in this manner(including a possible starting in and moving within test).

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 Kommissar Kel wrote:
If 2 overlap in such a way that your move would have you start moving within 1, enter a new one, and then exit the first; you will have to take 3 tests. Multiple staggered like this will have you test for each one entered and or exited in this manner(including a possible starting in and moving within test).

Still two tests, Kommissar, provided this movement was all in the same phase, of course. You don't test twice for the same Terrain in a Phase. If you moved out of the first by Running, then a third Test would be needed.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




So, I realize this thread is a bit old, and was fairly minor. I also realize that FW emails are generally considered of little worth, but I thought I might share the response I received from them in any case, if it should interest anyone.

Spoiler:
Overlaps would not cause 2 tests if they cover the same area, though if you move through more than one area (say from 1 marker into another) then that would cause more than one.


As best I can parse this, a model takes a test for each unique template it passes through, but not until it has cleared any region of overlap between templates. Each blast marker is counted as a separate piece of dangerous terrain, but a given point of terrain may only be dangerous once. That's simultaneously surprisingly consistent and unpleasantly clunky, which seems about rigfht for FW.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: