Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/03 19:28:29
Subject: Multiple Templates
|
 |
Ork Boy Hangin' off a Trukk
|
If I have a unit that has multiple template weapons, but some of them cannot reach the target squad (because it's a unit of Wartrakk Skorchas), are the templates simply not fired, or placed so they're aimed towards the target squad, or placed however you feel like?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/03 19:29:23
Subject: Multiple Templates
|
 |
Legendary Master of the Chapter
|
What flamer templates?
if its out of range its out of range.
i believe you ignore your own unit but it doesn't let you ignore the range.
|
Unit1126PLL wrote: Scott-S6 wrote:And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.
Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/03 19:34:24
Subject: Multiple Templates
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Desubot wrote:What flamer templates?
if its out of range its out of range.
i believe you ignore your own unit but it doesn't let you ignore the range.
Template weapons can only be placed if they're not touching friendly models.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/03 19:36:47
Subject: Multiple Templates
|
 |
Legendary Master of the Chapter
|
Ghaz wrote: Desubot wrote:What flamer templates?
if its out of range its out of range.
i believe you ignore your own unit but it doesn't let you ignore the range.
Template weapons can only be placed if they're not touching friendly models.
i believe there was a stipulation for the unit firing it i mean. not to shoot another of your own units.
|
Unit1126PLL wrote: Scott-S6 wrote:And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.
Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/03 19:38:04
Subject: Multiple Templates
|
 |
Ork Boy Hangin' off a Trukk
|
Yeah, but if there's two enemy units close by, could you potentially target both?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/03 19:39:29
Subject: Multiple Templates
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
You cannot target both (without a special rule allowing you to), but depending on set up it might be possible to target one and clip the other.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/03 19:39:34
Subject: Multiple Templates
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Hunam0001 wrote:Yeah, but if there's two enemy units close by, could you potentially target both? You could hit models in 2 separate enemy units with one flamer template, yes. You target 1 unit, and if it overlaps the second, bonus to you!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/05/03 19:40:04
DA:70S+G+M+B++I++Pw40k08+D++A++/fWD-R+T(M)DM+
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/03 19:40:01
Subject: Multiple Templates
|
 |
Legendary Master of the Chapter
|
to target them separately you need split fire.
if there are two units interwoven or otherwise next to each other wile being able to target your chosen enemy then i think you might be able though i remember you have to attempt to cover as many enemies as possible. dont have the rules on hand so dont know the wording.
im sure some other dakka guys can help you answer that part better.
|
Unit1126PLL wrote: Scott-S6 wrote:And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.
Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/03 19:45:28
Subject: Multiple Templates
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Desubot wrote: Ghaz wrote: Desubot wrote:What flamer templates?
if its out of range its out of range.
i believe you ignore your own unit but it doesn't let you ignore the range.
Template weapons can only be placed if they're not touching friendly models.
i believe there was a stipulation for the unit firing it i mean. not to shoot another of your own units.
From 'Template Weapons' ( pg. 173, main rulebook):
... without touching any other friendly models (including other models from the firing model's unit).
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/03 19:45:51
Subject: Multiple Templates
|
 |
Ork Boy Hangin' off a Trukk
|
Desubot wrote: Ghaz wrote: Desubot wrote:What flamer templates?
if its out of range its out of range.
i believe you ignore your own unit but it doesn't let you ignore the range.
Template weapons can only be placed if they're not touching friendly models.
i believe there was a stipulation for the unit firing it i mean. not to shoot another of your own units.
I think it's just that models in the firing unit don't provide a cover save to the target.
Anyhow, it makes sense that a template weapon's range is the template, therefore if the template can't reach the target unit, the unit is out of range.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/03 19:52:49
Subject: Multiple Templates
|
 |
Legendary Master of the Chapter
|
Ah well i stand corrected
|
Unit1126PLL wrote: Scott-S6 wrote:And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.
Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!
|
|
 |
 |
|