Switch Theme:

Grey knight lib question BOP and new psyhic powers  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




So my question is while the grey knight libiarn does not have the USR brother hood of psyker if he is in a squad of say termies and casts electro shield does only he get the buff or does his whole unit as the power says it targets the psyker. I can't seem to find a good source yet as the faq is so new.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Only when a bop casts the power does it extend to all bop in the unit.
   
Made in au
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot





the down underworld

Brotherhood of Psykers is actually written to confer to any attached ICs, so currently when a librarian is joined to a strike squad, the whole unit is a brotherhood of psykers unit

The current draft of the FAQ brings this into question though. we'll just have to wait and see how the final draft looks

"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes... "
 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

 jokerkd wrote:
Brotherhood of Psykers is actually written to confer to any attached ICs, so currently when a librarian is joined to a strike squad, the whole unit is a brotherhood of psykers unit

The current draft of the FAQ brings this into question though. we'll just have to wait and see how the final draft looks

You might want to support that with a citation. Per the IC rules, BoP does not confer to the IC. If you can prove otherwise, please give us a quote.

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
Made in au
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot





the down underworld

'm just going by the rule itself. it's written in the same way as stubborn, which is the example of how a USR must be written in order to confer between unit/IC

it only requires one model to have the rule, in which case it affects the whole unit

"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes... "
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Nottingham

"a unit containing at least one model with this special rule is a psyker unit"

"while an ic is part of a unit, he counts as part of the unit for all rules purposes"

I think Jokerkd might be right. I can't remember all the FAQ's, is there something that contradicts this?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/05/08 08:59:24


Have a look at my P&M blog - currently working on Sons of Horus

Have a look at my 3d Printed Mierce Miniatures

Previous projects
30k Iron Warriors (11k+)
Full first company Crimson Fists
Zone Mortalis (unfinished)
Classic high elf bloodbowl team 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

Please re-read Brotherhood of Psykers USR. While the line you quoted is true, the actual rules listed in bullet points statement the effects are applied to models with the BoP USR. The IC rules as well as the rules for Special Rules state the actual USR does not confer to other models, although the effects might. A Psyker IC that joins a BoP unit does not gain the BoP USR. Per the new FAQ, both the IC and BoP unit contribute their PML seperately to Warp Charge generation, and both can cast the powers that the individual model knows so long as no power being cast is duplicated by other models in the unit. BoP specifically states the only models in the unit with the BoP USR can suffer the effects of a Perils generated by a model with BoP, for example.

So in the example of a GK Libby attached to a GKT squad, the Libby does not gain the BoP special rule.

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Nottingham

Yes I'm clear on that, but that doesn't really relate to the op. If an ic psyker joins a bop unit, he becomes a part of it. What needs clarifying is if powers cast by them then affect the rest of the unit, as the FAQ isn't clear on whether the caster needs the bop rule. I know that powers cast by the bop models don't benefit the IC, but we are discussing the other way around, and my citations where to support that there is grounds for it working in that direction. As I read it, if the libby casts something that would benefit only him, it would affect the everyone in the unit with the bop as well. I could well be wrong, and hopefully the 2nd draft will clarify.

Have a look at my P&M blog - currently working on Sons of Horus

Have a look at my 3d Printed Mierce Miniatures

Previous projects
30k Iron Warriors (11k+)
Full first company Crimson Fists
Zone Mortalis (unfinished)
Classic high elf bloodbowl team 
   
Made in au
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot





the down underworld

My mistake. I meant the whole unit is a psyker unit. The book defines "psyker unit" and "psyker" as the same thing, meaning if the IC casts a power that affects the "psyker", it would affect the whole unit

On the contrary, the faq states that any rule that affects a unit does not affect ICs. There are no exceptions in the answer. It's a straight "no"

I believe they meant to only address detachment rules but have unwittingly cast a blanket ban on all rules, like hit and run, from affecting ICs

"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes... "
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

It also means that a unit afflicted with blindness does not affect the IC, contrary to the IC rules.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

The issue is that instead of a clarification, GW just FAQ'd a rule change that goes against what they wrote in the BRB. Which is to say that their input changes the mechanics rather clarifies the mechanics.

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

"Psyker" and "Psyker unit" aren't actually defined as the same thing in the psychic section. I recently re-read it and it could very well be that those two terms are distinct and different.

Here's another strange one for the BoP rules:
Let's look at the BoP rule. "If this unit suffers Perils of the Warp...the hits are Randomly allocated amongst models with the BoP speicla rule."
The Libby is part of the unit. He manifests a power and suffers a Perils. The UNIT has suffered a Perils since the Libby is a part of the unit. Now, in fact, it's illegal for him to take the effects. According to BoP, the Perils can ONLY go to a model with BoP, which the Libby doesn't have.

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

 Elric Greywolf wrote:
"Psyker" and "Psyker unit" aren't actually defined as the same thing in the psychic section. I recently re-read it and it could very well be that those two terms are distinct and different.

Here's another strange one for the BoP rules:
Let's look at the BoP rule. "If this unit suffers Perils of the Warp...the hits are Randomly allocated amongst models with the BoP speicla rule."
The Libby is part of the unit. He manifests a power and suffers a Perils. The UNIT has suffered a Perils since the Libby is a part of the unit. Now, in fact, it's illegal for him to take the effects. According to BoP, the Perils can ONLY go to a model with BoP, which the Libby doesn't have.

It can also be read that the "unit" is the BoP unit, while the IC is it's own unit due to how special rules interact.

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
Made in de
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot




Germany

what part of the FAQ are you guys refering to? did I miss something?
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 jeffersonian000 wrote:

It can also be read that the "unit" is the BoP unit, while the IC is it's own unit due to how special rules interact.

SJ

Nothing allows ICs to be interacted as their own unit while joined to another.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

 Charistoph wrote:
 jeffersonian000 wrote:

It can also be read that the "unit" is the BoP unit, while the IC is it's own unit due to how special rules interact.

SJ

Nothing allows ICs to be interacted as their own unit while joined to another.

Nothing except the IC rules.

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 jeffersonian000 wrote:
 Charistoph wrote:
 jeffersonian000 wrote:

It can also be read that the "unit" is the BoP unit, while the IC is it's own unit due to how special rules interact.

SJ

Nothing allows ICs to be interacted as their own unit while joined to another.

Nothing except the IC rules.

SJ

Which has nothing that allows ICs to be interacted as their own unit while joined to another.

If you can provide it, do so.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

Like the part where an IC does not share rules with the unit? A Psyker IC is a Psyker in their own right, generating powers and Warp Charges on their own, separate from the unit they have joined.

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 jeffersonian000 wrote:
Like the part where an IC does not share rules with the unit?

That is about sharing rules, nothing about treating it as its own unit. It is a model with its own rules assigned to it, much like a Sergeant or Company Champion has their own separate rules from the rest of the unit.

A Psyker IC is a Psyker in their own right, generating powers and Warp Charges on their own, separate from the unit they have joined.

A Psyker in its own right, but still not treating it as a separate unit.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

 Charistoph wrote:
 jeffersonian000 wrote:
Like the part where an IC does not share rules with the unit?

That is about sharing rules, nothing about treating it as its own unit. It is a model with its own rules assigned to it, much like a Sergeant or Company Champion has their own separate rules from the rest of the unit.

A Psyker IC is a Psyker in their own right, generating powers and Warp Charges on their own, separate from the unit they have joined.

A Psyker in its own right, but still not treating it as a separate unit.

Did you just argue semantics?

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
Made in us
Hooded Inquisitorial Interrogator





It seems to me that if the IC psyker casts a spell that only affects the psyker, it affects only him as he does not have the BoP usr, and if BoP models cast the spell it affects everyone with the BoP usr.

Elric does appear to be right however in that, if an IC psyker in a BoP unit, gets a peril of the warp effect it would be unable to distribute to him.

Very odd

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/05/12 17:31:58


There is no such thing as a plea of innocence in my court. A plea of innocence is guilty of wasting my time. Guilty. - Lord Inquisitor Fyodor Karamazov

In an Imperium of a million worlds, what is the death of one world in the cause of purity?~Inquisition credo

He who allows the alien to live, shares its crime of existence. ~Inquisitor Apollyon
 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 jeffersonian000 wrote:

Did you just argue semantics?

SJ

This whole board's purpose is nothing but arguing semantics.

Even with the Psyker example and the FAQ, a Librarian in a Grey Knight Squad still cannot cast a spell already cast by the BoP.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

 Charistoph wrote:
 jeffersonian000 wrote:

Did you just argue semantics?

SJ

This whole board's purpose is nothing but arguing semantics.

Even with the Psyker example and the FAQ, a Librarian in a Grey Knight Squad still cannot cast a spell already cast by the BoP.

I concur about that, powers cast are once per unit+IC.

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: