Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/19 09:20:46
Subject: Markerlights and firing twice
|
 |
Stalwart Dark Angels Space Marine
London
|
Many units in tau get the option to fire twice in a turn.
If they are repeating the shots against a target with marker lights on it, do they have to use up marker lights with each attack? or can they keep the same ones from the first attack.
"Immediately before a unit from the Tau Empire Faction shoots at a target that has any markerlight counters,"
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/19 10:14:35
Subject: Markerlights and firing twice
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Trazer985 wrote:"Immediately before a unit from the Tau Empire Faction shoots at a target that has any markerlight counters,"
Keep reading.
"Each ability costs a number of markerlight counters - remove this number of counters from the target immediately when the ability is declared."
And then the abilities all make it clear they count only for that shooting attack.
So if the second round of shooting is resolved as part of the one shooting attack, then yes, and if resolved as a separate shooting attack, then no.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/05/19 10:14:50
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/19 10:47:32
Subject: Markerlights and firing twice
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Very interesting!
So far I only saw this played as "+1 BS" or "Ignore Cover" for a unit.
However, when looking at the rule text, it actually says "for a shooting attack".
So assuming a Crisis Suit with two different ranged weapons, is firing both of these weapons a) one shooting attack or b) two shooting attacks?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/19 11:45:15
Subject: Markerlights and firing twice
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Stephanius wrote:So assuming a Crisis Suit with two different ranged weapons, is firing both of these weapons a) one shooting attack or b) two shooting attacks?
The 7-step shooting sequence on page 30 of the rulebook implies that the entire process (1-7) is a "shooting attack", particularly in the "Nominate a Unit to Shoot" and "Select Another Weapon" sub-sections.
So I'd agree with Mr. Shine - it depends whether the second shot counts as part of the same shooting attack, or as a separate attack. Either way breaks a basic rule (in the first instance, going back to the same weapon after firing it, and in the second going back to the same unit after firing with it), so it depends on the specific rule.
Specifically in the case of a Stormsurge's Anchors, they are defined as a second "shooting attack", so would not benefit from Markerlights twice. I'm not sure what other units have similar abilities to look up exact wording.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/19 13:03:27
Subject: Markerlights and firing twice
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Thank you. =]
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/19 14:47:52
Subject: Markerlights and firing twice
|
 |
Stalwart Dark Angels Space Marine
London
|
from my understanding, a shooting attack is where you declare the shots. and then you choose a gun, you can fire more than 1 gun, so all guns in first round of attack use the same markerlights, but the second wave of attacks (riptide hailfire etc). requires a second round of markers. if its still alive.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/25 10:54:51
Subject: Markerlights and firing twice
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
the only thing, IMO that actually has 2 distinct shooting phases is the Stormsurge when it's anchors have been deployed. The others (fireblade & ethereal) merely add an additional shot.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/05/25 10:55:34
'No plan survives contact with the enemy. Who are we?'
'THE ENEMY!!!'
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/25 13:25:33
Subject: Markerlights and firing twice
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
Phoenix, AZ, USA
|
GW clarified that a Stormsurge's second set of shots is still part of the first shooting attack, as they stated weapons can be fired again in any order including twice in row or after another weapon has fired. In effect, deploying the anchors doubles the number of weapons able to fire (with the exception of the one use only missiles). As this is the case, markerlight use remains unchanged.
The original clarification was in a GW response on how a Stormsurge's Anchors work.
SJ
|
“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/25 14:26:45
Subject: Markerlights and firing twice
|
 |
Auspicious Aspiring Champion of Chaos
|
jeffersonian000 wrote:GW clarified that a Stormsurge's second set of shots is still part of the first shooting attack, as they stated weapons can be fired again in any order including twice in row or after another weapon has fired. In effect, deploying the anchors doubles the number of weapons able to fire (with the exception of the one use only missiles). As this is the case, markerlight use remains unchanged.
The original clarification was in a GW response on how a Stormsurge's Anchors work.
SJ
Do you have a link to this clarification?
|
2000 Khorne Bloodbound (Skullfiend Tribe- Aqshy)
1000 Tzeentch Arcanites (Pyrofane Cult - Hysh) in progress
2000 Slaves to Darkness (Ravagers)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/25 16:03:13
Subject: Markerlights and firing twice
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
jeffersonian000 wrote:GW clarified that a Stormsurge's second set of shots is still part of the first shooting attack, as they stated weapons can be fired again in any order including twice in row or after another weapon has fired. In effect, deploying the anchors doubles the number of weapons able to fire (with the exception of the one use only missiles). As this is the case, markerlight use remains unchanged.
The original clarification was in a GW response on how a Stormsurge's Anchors work.
SJ
Considering Tau don't have an FAQ, this is BS
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/26 02:26:13
Subject: Markerlights and firing twice
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
Phoenix, AZ, USA
|
It was posted in the Tau tactica thread in the Dakka Dakka Tactics forum, somewhere around page 80. Given how the new FAQ rulings on GMCs match the missive's GMC clarifications, we have a good argument for RAI. Of course, we shall see when the Tau FAQ drops.
SJ
|
“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/26 02:50:21
Subject: Markerlights and firing twice
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
jeffersonian000 wrote:It was posted in the Tau tactica thread in the Dakka Dakka Tactics forum, somewhere around page 80. Given how the new FAQ rulings on GMCs match the missive's GMC clarifications, we have a good argument for RAI. Of course, we shall see when the Tau FAQ drops.
SJ
I just checked 79-81. bs.
|
'No plan survives contact with the enemy. Who are we?'
'THE ENEMY!!!'
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/26 13:59:51
Subject: Markerlights and firing twice
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
Phoenix, AZ, USA
|
carldooley wrote: jeffersonian000 wrote:It was posted in the Tau tactica thread in the Dakka Dakka Tactics forum, somewhere around page 80. Given how the new FAQ rulings on GMCs match the missive's GMC clarifications, we have a good argument for RAI. Of course, we shall see when the Tau FAQ drops.
SJ
I just checked 79-81. bs.
Dang, three pages. Quite the scholar.
SJ
|
“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/27 16:26:54
Subject: Markerlights and firing twice
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The shooting sequence addresses this problem anyway without having a need to have a ruling concerning a Stormsurge.
|
|
 |
 |
|