Switch Theme:

Can you use artifacts from a supplement and codex together  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Lesser Daemon of Chaos




ERROR 223781: This user is currently at large and has no fixed position

Basically the title. But for a bit more detail, I'm wondering if I can use artifacts from both the CSM codex and the Crimson Slaughter supplement in the same army.

Long live the Chaos Space Marines!!!  
   
Made in ca
Foolproof Falcon Pilot




Ontario, Canada

In the same Army - Yes
In the same Detachment - No

If you take a CSM CAD and a Crimson Slaughter CAD in the same army, then the characters in the CSM CAD will have access to the Artefacts from the CSM codex, and the characters in the Crimson Slaughter CAD will have access to the Relics from the Crimson Slaughter Supplement. They cannot take Relics/Artefacts from each other's publications.

From the Crimson Slaughter Supplement:
RELICS OF THE CRIMSON SLAUGHTER
Any character in your Crimson Slaughter detachment that can select Chaos Artefacts cannot select from those listed in Codex: Chaos Space Marines , but can instead select from the Relics of the Crimson Slaughter, presented opposite, at the points cost shown

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/05/20 20:19:14


 
   
Made in pr
Screeching Screamer of Tzeentch




Bojazz wrote:
From the Crimson Slaughter Supplement:
RELICS OF THE CRIMSON SLAUGHTER
Any character in your Crimson Slaughter detachment that can select Chaos Artefacts cannot select from those listed in Codex: Chaos Space Marines , but can instead select from the Relics of the Crimson Slaughter, presented opposite, at the points cost shown


Did that not change on the newest Crimson Slaughter? To:
RELICS OF THE CRIMSON SLAUGHTER
Any character in your Crimson Slaughter Detachment or Formation that can select Chaos Artefacts may choose from the Relics of the Crimson Slaughter (opposite), at the points cost shown, in addition to the Chaos Artifacts from Codex: Chaos Space Marines


In General, though, whether a Army/Detachment can take Relics both from a codex abnd supplement together depends on the wording on the Supplement.
   
Made in ca
Foolproof Falcon Pilot




Ontario, Canada

Oh, shoot, maybe I've still got the old version. If that's the case then yeah, Avadar is correct.
   
Made in lu
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought






Yes, they changed it. You can do it with both Black Legion and Crimson Slaughter. The same is true for war lord traits and formations/detachements.
   
Made in jp
Regular Dakkanaut





Just a shame you can't mix and match on the same model.
   
Made in se
Glorious Lord of Chaos






The burning pits of Hades, also known as Sweden in summer

It is 'in addition to' rather than either/or, so does that not imply you can mix?

Currently ongoing projects:
Horus Heresy Alpha Legion
Tyranids  
   
Made in jp
Regular Dakkanaut





Indeed it does, but the silly faq has a one relic per model rule :(.
   
Made in lu
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought






Yea, well... I'm gonna ignore the feth out of that part of the faq, so as far as I'm concerned...mix and match as you see fit
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

Just make sure the other game organizers feel the same way, or you may find the number of games you have access to limited.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in lu
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought






Sure, but when is that not case these days?
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: