Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/30 03:33:45
Subject: New Star Wars player looking for some help with his Y-Wing
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
So, I saw on the interwebs a Y-Wing configuration I'm looking at running (Goldie+BTL-A4+R3-A2+TLT) in a game this week. I haven't played in awhile and since it's a friendly game we don't care that much if you have the cards or not (I printed off my list from xwing-builder so I have the card text, etc). The problem I have is that I keep reading the text for the TLT and it really makes no sense to me. Everywhere I read in other posts it says it only causes a total of 2 damage - I'm guessing one from each attack. And then the card text says at the end "...Then cancel all dice results...". What dice results are they referring to? Why does it only ever cause 2 damage?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/30 04:03:09
Subject: New Star Wars player looking for some help with his Y-Wing
|
 |
Combat Jumping Rasyat
|
With the TLT you make 2 attacks, for each one you make an attack as normal but if you hit instead of the target suffering any uncanceled hits or crits you rolled the defender only takes one damage and you ignore what you rolled.
Edit: basically you only roll to see if you hit. You could roll all crits and your enemy could roll no evades and it wouldn't matter the attack would still only do one damage and you don't do crits.
The TLT can only ever do 2 damage because each attack can only cause 1 damage. I'm not sure how BTL and TLT interact but at this point it will probably be in the FAQ.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/05/30 04:10:20
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/30 04:08:32
Subject: Re:New Star Wars player looking for some help with his Y-Wing
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
Can they still use an evade token or a card that can take damage?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/30 04:15:42
Subject: Re:New Star Wars player looking for some help with his Y-Wing
|
 |
Combat Jumping Rasyat
|
The evade token would be spent during one of the attacks to cancel a hit rolled and may cause the attack to fail but only if it cancels the last hit you had. As for cards that allow you to discard damage cards they would still work and the reinforced hull/shields are the same as if your ships printed hull/shield value were one higher.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/30 04:16:45
Subject: Re:New Star Wars player looking for some help with his Y-Wing
|
 |
Colonel
This Is Where the Fish Lives
|
necron99 wrote:Can they still use an evade token or a card that can take damage?
Here's how it happens: Attacker declares a target and weapon (in this case, his Twin Laser Turret)Attacker rolls attack diceDefender modifies attack dice (if able)Attacker modifies attack dice (if able)Defender rolls defense diceAttacker modifies defense dice (if able)Defender modifies defense dice (if able)Compare resultsIf there is uncancelled damage, the defender suffers one damage and all dice results are canceledRepeat that process except for the "Declare Target" step Automatically Appended Next Post: ChaoticMind wrote: I'm not sure how BTL and TLT interact but at this point it will probably be in the FAQ.
The same as it does with any other equipped turret: Make a primary weapon attack. After that attack resolves, make an attack with the equipped turret if you have a valid target (it does not have to be the same target as your primary weapon attack).
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2016/05/31 00:21:33
d-usa wrote:"When the Internet sends its people, they're not sending their best. They're not sending you. They're not sending you. They're sending posters that have lots of problems, and they're bringing those problems with us. They're bringing strawmen. They're bringing spam. They're trolls. And some, I assume, are good people." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/30 11:43:24
Subject: Re:New Star Wars player looking for some help with his Y-Wing
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
Ok, so what does that last sentence mean: "...Then cancel all dice results..."? It sounds like it has to do with defense dice?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/30 11:57:12
Subject: New Star Wars player looking for some help with his Y-Wing
|
 |
Gun Mage
|
The part about cancelling all results means that whatever hits you rolled can't actually cause damage as normal. Without that phrase, each of the two attacks would do normal dice damage PLUS the one damage.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/30 13:26:01
Subject: Re:New Star Wars player looking for some help with his Y-Wing
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
ok, so it just did two attacks which will probably be good for 2 hits. If you're attacking a tie fighter won't they just use their three defense dice and stop the single hits?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/30 14:34:52
Subject: Re:New Star Wars player looking for some help with his Y-Wing
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
necron99 wrote:ok, so it just did two attacks which will probably be good for 2 hits. If you're attacking a tie fighter won't they just use their three defense dice and stop the single hits?
Maybe but Red dice have more positive results than Green, so its more likely that 3 red against 3 green will end in favour of red, especially over 2 attacks, and at worst force the defender use up Focus or Evades which gets very sticky in the face of multiple TLT's or BLT Y-Wings
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/05/30 14:35:24
"AND YET YOU ACT AS IF THERE IS SOME IDEAL ORDER IN THE WORLD, AS IF THERE IS SOME...SOME RIGHTNESS IN THE UNIVERSE BY WHICH IT MAY BE JUDGED." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/30 20:29:45
Subject: Re:New Star Wars player looking for some help with his Y-Wing
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
necron99 wrote:ok, so it just did two attacks which will probably be good for 2 hits. If you're attacking a tie fighter won't they just use their three defense dice and stop the single hits?
Just to be clear: the green dice don't cancel "hits", they cancel ★ and ☆ results. A ★/☆ result is not technically a "hit". A "hit" is the term for a whole attack that has uncancelled ★/☆ results at the end (after all rolling and modifying is done). The way TLT works is that if you score a "hit" (I.e. you have any uncancelled ★/☆ results) then you apply one damage, then you cancel all the ★/☆ results. The TLT is actually more effective against agile ships like Tie Fighters, because you are unlikely to push more than one damage through with a normal attack anyway, and the TLT allows you to shoot twice. So statistically, it's a little bit like having two normal attacks against those ships.
|
This message was edited 7 times. Last update was at 2016/05/30 21:02:42
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/31 12:31:14
Subject: New Star Wars player looking for some help with his Y-Wing
|
 |
Battleship Captain
|
Exactly. The big confusion: Don't call the red dice result 'hits' - a lot of people do, but that is precisely what is causing your confusion.
It's exactly like the ion cannon; you know how you roll red dice, then green dice, and evades cancel 'boom' and 'kaboom'.
If you have any 'booms' left over, that is an 'attack that hit' - the consequence normally is that you take one damage for each leftover 'boom' and one crit for each leftover 'kaboom'.
Ion cannons don't work like that. If you've hit, you cancel all the leftover 'boom' and 'kabooms', and then cause a flat one damage, one ion token.
Twin laser turrets are the same - if you hit, then regardless of how much you 'hit by', you cancel all the 'booms' and 'kabooms' and just do a flat one damage.
As a related note, this is why Lieutenant Blount works the way he does:
A lot of people are confused by this guy for the same reason. What he does is always count as 'hitting' even if he does no damage. Hitting and damage aren't quite the same thing. The Stealth Device, for example:
Blount will always strip off the stealth device when he fires. He may do no damage, but since he always counts as hitting, even if he rolls no damage and you roll four evades, you're hit, so must discard the stealth device.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/05/31 12:33:41
Termagants expended for the Hive Mind: ~2835
|
|
 |
 |
|