Switch Theme:

Can marines stay inside a drop pod?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Repentia Mistress





I've been told that dreadnoughts can sit inside lucius pattern dreadnoughts but I can't find that specific rule anywhere, any help?

Or can units in general sit inside drop pods the turn they arrive?

hey what time is it?

"Try looking on page 12 of the FAQ."

-Ghaz 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

 Aijec wrote:
I've been told that dreadnoughts can sit inside lucius pattern dreadnoughts but I can't find that specific rule anywhere, any help?


There is no such rule for the Lucius Pattern Dreadnought Drop Pod in Imperial Armour Volume 2 Second Edition - War Machines of the Adeptus Astartes.

The Legion Dreadnought Drop's 'Drop Pod Assault' special rule does state the Dreadnought inside need not disembark when it arrives.

Or can units in general sit inside drop pods the turn they arrive?


The standard Drop Pod rules are very clear about this. The last sentence of its 'Drop Pod Assault' rule answers this question.
   
Made in us
Terminator with Assault Cannon





Mr. Shine wrote:There is no such rule for the Lucius Pattern Dreadnought Drop Pod in Imperial Armour Volume 2 Second Edition - War Machines of the Adeptus Astartes.

The Legion Dreadnought Drop's 'Drop Pod Assault' special rule does state the Dreadnought inside need not disembark when it arrives.


This angers me. I've played against someone who made this very claim, i.e., that dreadnoughts can stay in their lucius pattern dreadnought drop pods!

Can you use the legion drop-pod in a normal 40k game?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/06/01 05:29:15


 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

Traditio wrote:
This angers me. I've played against someone who made this very claim, i.e., that dreadnoughts can stay in their lucius pattern dreadnought drop pods!


That's not quite what I said - I said that there's no rule stating a Dreadnought may sit inside the Lucuis Pattern Dreadnought Drop Pod.

Can you use the legion drop-pod in a normal 40k game?


Not outside of a Space Marine Legion Crusade detachment, I believe.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/06/01 05:39:57


 
   
Made in au
Warning From Magnus? Not Listening!





Melbourne, Australia

In the space marine codex the last sentence of the Drop Pod Assault special rule reads: "Once a Drop Pod has landed, all passengers must disembark and no models can embark for the rest of the game."

As this sentence does not exist in the Lucius pattern entry, the unit inside (ie. a dreadnought) does not have to disembark.

Edit: note that this also implies a dreadnought could embark in the Pod later in the game

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/06/01 05:49:12


My P&M blog

DC:90S++G+++M+B+IPw40k04#+D+A+++/cWD241R++T(T)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Repentia Mistress





Hmm interesting.

It appears pretty valid although I wish they would explicitly state it instead of just NOT stating the opposite.

It's pretty clear that the pod was made to be assaulted out of so that implies the dread can sit inside.

Otherwise what else would it be for?

hey what time is it?

"Try looking on page 12 of the FAQ."

-Ghaz 
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User



Jersey Channel islands

I thought rule set was permissive(as seen a fair amount of threads where people have claimed that)? Because it does not say I can't that means I can seems to be the case for keeping the dread in the pod even though every other pod says you must disembark.
The rules for pod allow you to shot through it and gives a 2+ cover save from anything that does (turn it arrives).
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





Bullveye wrote:
I thought rule set was permissive(as seen a fair amount of threads where people have claimed that)? Because it does not say I can't that means I can seems to be the case for keeping the dread in the pod even though every other pod says you must disembark.
The rules for pod allow you to shot through it and gives a 2+ cover save from anything that does (turn it arrives).

Normal transport rules give you permission to stay in transports. Drop Pod Assault on normal drop pods modiefies these rule by forcing you to disembark. Since Lucius DPs don't modify the normal transport rules like that, you get to to continue using normal transports and stay inside a transport.
   
Made in us
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch





ft. Bragg

Bullveye wrote:
I thought rule set was permissive(as seen a fair amount of threads where people have claimed that)? Because it does not say I can't that means I can seems to be the case for keeping the dread in the pod even though every other pod says you must disembark.
The rules for pod allow you to shot through it and gives a 2+ cover save from anything that does (turn it arrives).


That's not what permissive means. The rule set tells you everything you CAN do.... not what you can not. There is no rule that says I can not jump up and down on your models while screaming "apocalyptic barrage"... but since the rules do not grant me permission to do it, I can not.

Let a billion souls burn in death than for one soul to bend knee to a false Emperor.....
"I am the punishment of God, had you not committed great sin, God would not have sent a punishment like me upon you" 
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User



Jersey Channel islands

Fair enough then. Don't use dread pods walk mine up lol (not a competive bunch here and if using them have 3 )

How do you work out LoS through the drop pod when shooting? For saves and shrouded from pod first turn rule (can't remember what called)? Do you just use the shrouded rule or..?
   
Made in de
Witch Hunter in the Shadows



Aachen

Bullveye wrote:
Fair enough then. Don't use dread pods walk mine up lol (not a competive bunch here and if using them have 3 )

How do you work out LoS through the drop pod when shooting? For saves and shrouded from pod first turn rule (can't remember what called)? Do you just use the shrouded rule or..?


"through"?

If you're still embarked on a Drop Pod - refer to the Transport rules. You cannot be targeted while embarked.
If you're not embarked: Intervening model rules, 25% for vehicles like Walkers. The special rule for the drop pod tells you who benefits from Shrouded via Burning Retros VERY specifically, so please check your IA2 2ndEd (p160) for that.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/06/01 07:36:27


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Bullveye wrote:
How do you work out LoS through the drop pod when shooting?



Just like you would for any other model that would potentially be in the way. You determine Line of Sight as normal...

For saves and shrouded from pod first turn rule (can't remember what called)? Do you just use the shrouded rule or..?


It depends on what the actual rule says.



"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in au
Warning From Magnus? Not Listening!





Melbourne, Australia

Bullveye wrote:The rules for pod allow you to shot through it and gives a 2+ cover save from anything that does (turn it arrives).


Bullveye wrote:For saves and shrouded from pod first turn rule (can't remember what called)? Do you just use the shrouded rule or..?
Where is this rule..?

My P&M blog

DC:90S++G+++M+B+IPw40k04#+D+A+++/cWD241R++T(T)DM+ 
   
Made in de
Witch Hunter in the Shadows



Aachen

 Brother Payne wrote:
Bullveye wrote:The rules for pod allow you to shot through it and gives a 2+ cover save from anything that does (turn it arrives).


Bullveye wrote:For saves and shrouded from pod first turn rule (can't remember what called)? Do you just use the shrouded rule or..?
Where is this rule..?


Imperial Armour 2 Second Edition, p. 160. What Bullveye wrote isn't correct, the Lucius Drop Pod grants regular Shrouded. Who exactly benefits from it is written on that page.
   
Made in au
Warning From Magnus? Not Listening!





Melbourne, Australia

nekooni wrote:
 Brother Payne wrote:
Bullveye wrote:The rules for pod allow you to shot through it and gives a 2+ cover save from anything that does (turn it arrives).


Bullveye wrote:For saves and shrouded from pod first turn rule (can't remember what called)? Do you just use the shrouded rule or..?
Where is this rule..?


Imperial Armour 2 Second Edition, p. 160. What Bullveye wrote isn't correct, the Lucius Drop Pod grants regular Shrouded. Who exactly benefits from it is written on that page.
Thanks

My P&M blog

DC:90S++G+++M+B+IPw40k04#+D+A+++/cWD241R++T(T)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User



Jersey Channel islands

You are correct I wrote it wrong could of put it better.
Burning retros grants Shrouded to any unit that is targeted where the LOS passes through or over the drop pod on turn it arrives. Plus the other part for the Dreadnaught if it disembarks.
   
Made in us
Uhlan




Dothan, AL

For what its worth, I emailed the FW guys with that specific question on the Lucius Pattern and the answer was that the rules for that variant did not require the dread to disembark on the turn it arrived. I was confused as it being an assault vehicle didn't make much sense if the dread could not assault due to DS, but by staying on board it gains protection for that one turn then can assault out on the next.

I've seen things you people wouldn't believe. Attack ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion. I've watched c-beams glitter in the dark near the Tannhäuser Gate. All those ... moments will be lost in time, like tears...in rain
 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Librarian with Freaky Familiar





 Traditio wrote:
Can you use the legion drop-pod in a normal 40k game?

Unless you are using a Legion army, no.


They/them

 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 ah64pilot5 wrote:
For what its worth, I emailed the FW guys with that specific question on the Lucius Pattern and the answer was that the rules for that variant did not require the dread to disembark on the turn it arrived. I was confused as it being an assault vehicle didn't make much sense if the dread could not assault due to DS, but by staying on board it gains protection for that one turn then can assault out on the next.

All Drop Pods are Assault Vehicles, not just the Lucius.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

 Charistoph wrote:
 ah64pilot5 wrote:
For what its worth, I emailed the FW guys with that specific question on the Lucius Pattern and the answer was that the rules for that variant did not require the dread to disembark on the turn it arrived. I was confused as it being an assault vehicle didn't make much sense if the dread could not assault due to DS, but by staying on board it gains protection for that one turn then can assault out on the next.

All Drop Pods are Assault Vehicles, not just the Lucius.


In particular they are Open-topped Vehicles, which carry the Assault Vehicle special rule. So somewhat coincidental that they have the rule.
   
Made in au
Warning From Magnus? Not Listening!





Melbourne, Australia

 Mr. Shine wrote:
 Charistoph wrote:
 ah64pilot5 wrote:
For what its worth, I emailed the FW guys with that specific question on the Lucius Pattern and the answer was that the rules for that variant did not require the dread to disembark on the turn it arrived. I was confused as it being an assault vehicle didn't make much sense if the dread could not assault due to DS, but by staying on board it gains protection for that one turn then can assault out on the next.

All Drop Pods are Assault Vehicles, not just the Lucius.


In particular they are Open-topped Vehicles, which carry the Assault Vehicle special rule. So somewhat coincidental that they have the rule.
I hadn't thought of this. Despite that, the Lucius is the only one that can effectively use the rule by keeping the Dread in there for a turn, as DSing troops can't assault the turn they arrive. Worth noting that it being open topped, the dread can still shoot out of the Pod whilst remaining inside (so don't feel the need to get him out).

Another use I think the Lucius has might be to stick it on an objective and have a squishy obsec unit come and hide in it as there is no sentence stating you cannot embark later in the game (guard allies maybe?).

My P&M blog

DC:90S++G+++M+B+IPw40k04#+D+A+++/cWD241R++T(T)DM+ 
   
Made in pl
Regular Dakkanaut






I assume that dreadnought have 360 degree firing arc while embarked, measured from the drop pod hull. Also he can fire overwatch at unit that charges that drop pod?

   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

He would be treated exactly the same as any other unit embarked on an open topped transport.

 
   
Made in us
Freaky Flayed One





Bullveye wrote:
I thought rule set was permissive(as seen a fair amount of threads where people have claimed that)? Because it does not say I can't that means I can seems to be the case for keeping the dread in the pod even though every other pod says you must disembark.
The rules for pod allow you to shot through it and gives a 2+ cover save from anything that does (turn it arrives).


A drop pod is a type of transport that holds a unit, this one in particular holds (inside) a dreadnought. The ruling for other drop pods explicitly state that the unit must disembark.

Normally units can stay embarked in transports unless they disembark. You are given permission from the BRB to stay inside a transport.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: