Switch Theme:

KDK Blood Tithe boosts to Formations and Using ForgeWorld in 'regular' games  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




First question..

I would put this in 'make da call' except I think the FW part, brings it here


If the core of my army is a Slaughtercult which allows a secondary title benefit to apply to 'all units in the formation'

does this apply to my entire army if i am only using the SC plus other formations - the 'flow chart' part of the codex seems to suggest this, but the exact wording does not

secondly...

how 'good manners' is it to use FW models and rules in regular games

im thinking about picking up a brass scorpion and maybe a kharybdis in the future. these would be the centerpieces of my army and display other than bloodthirsters (unfortunately still on the wish list). of course it boils down to, what do you and your opponent agree too, but is it 'rude' to say, I'm going to be fielding a fist of khorne in this 1500 point game, or say, im going to bring a greater brass scorpion in this 2k/2500 point game

also whats up with the Dreadclaw drop pod. i cant tell if its a 30k or 40k model, and if it could be used to drop a unit of berserkers who could charge after disembarking, losing the D hit to vehicles for less points, and also disemark upon arrival which the KB claw cannot do to my interpretation

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/06/04 14:29:12


 
   
Made in lu
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought






The benefits from the slaughtercult only apply to the slaughtercult. The other formations are (usually) part of the same detachment but they don't merge with the slaughtercult if that's what you're thinking.

The Slaughtercult is a minimum requirement for a blood host detachment and for each slaughtercult in that detachment you can add up to 8 of the other formations. You could just mix and match formations as you see fit without caring about that, but doing it in this way gives you the command benefit from the blood host detachment and allows you to take a lords of slaughter "formation". Unlike the others, the lords of slaughter isn't a stand-alone formation and can only be taken in a blood host detachment.

Acceptability of FW is entirely dependent on your gaming group. Opinions still vary greatly.
The same is true for using FW with daemonkin. There is no official stance other than a few emails, so make of that what you will.

Imho it's not rude to bring a fist of khorne in a 1500 points game. That's like half your army right there, for 20 marines and an AV12 box. They're good, but hardly broken. And the brass scorpion is totally fine at 2000+ points. Especially these days with superheavies galore.
Not sure what you mean with the dreadclaw. It's both 40k and 30k, just like the kharybdis. It doesn't allow you to charge straight from the claw after deepstriking though and neither does the kharybdis. You can stay inside for a turn and then disembark and assault due to the assault vehicle rules though. The first of khorne lets you assault from deepstrike because of the formation special rule. The same is true for the D hit, as in neither can do that and it's only because of the formation.

The dreadclaw and kharybdis are basically the same thing, except that the dreadclaw can be taken in different roles and is cheaper, but looses the guns and can't ram. It also has less hullpoints and doesn't have the homing beacon. Oh and it only takes 10 models rather than 20.
   
Made in gb
Savage Khorne Berserker Biker





UK

...and the rules for the drop pods are in Imperial Armour 13.
The Dreadclaw entry says that only chosen and CSM squads can take it as a dedicated transport, so I think that precludes deploying berserkers in it. Perhaps someone can clarify?

pronouns: she/her
We're going to need more skulls - My blogspot
Quanar wrote:you were able to fit regular guardsmen in drop pods before the FAQ and they'd just come out as a sort of soup..
 
   
Made in gb
Ancient Chaos Terminator






Surfing the Tervigon Wave...on a baby.

The assaulting from the dreadclaw is part of a formation in Blood Oath iirc.


Now only a CSM player. 
   
Made in lu
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought






 corpuschain wrote:
...and the rules for the drop pods are in Imperial Armour 13.
The Dreadclaw entry says that only chosen and CSM squads can take it as a dedicated transport, so I think that precludes deploying berserkers in it. Perhaps someone can clarify?


You can still take it as as fast attack, but only chosen, CSM and some dreads can take it as dedicated. So berzerkers are ok, though it is highly debatable if daemonkin units can take it if you're going by their mails. As far as I know you can only take marked or daemon of khorne stuff, aka no dreadclaw or kharybdis. Though I'd allow it since they have a friggin formation with a kharybdis -_-.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




thanks for the clarification on the detachment, I understand now.

so the Fist of Khorne formation is found in the Blood Oath campaign book - (cannot find one for sale online, but can find images of the rules)

and it is pretty much considered 'ok' to use this formation in 'regular' 40k games

im seeing it does mention KDK in the rules for the formation, but the dreadclaw may seem a stretch to some players? could i pay for a MoK and have it auto get BFTBG (i read in another dakka post someone from GW said this was what to do). would i pay for the MoK on the kharybdis to use it with the Fist in KDK also?

i do not have the IA13 book and when i get closer to owning the models I would try pick it up, for now I am using pics of the rules from the web. since SM drop pods i play against can arrive, disembark, would that mean a Dreadclaw could arrive, disembark, and charge in one turn, without the special rule simply because it is an assault vehicle?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/06/04 16:54:17


 
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





It all depends on who you play with. Play against me and I could care less just get comfy and enjoy me doing what I do. I am easy going to the extreme tho, if it looks cool good I have something to look at if not oh well.

So if you want to know what to bring base it on who you play. But for a random pick up, I would say expect the worse hope for the best.

I need to go to work every day.
Millions of people on welfare depend on me. 
   
Made in lu
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought






There is no good way of using a dreadclaw for daemonkin. You'd have to ask around the people you intend to play with. Strictly speaking daemonkin straight up cannot use it. The only official way for daemonkin to use a kharybdis is through the fist of khorne formation.
Outside of that, how and if you allow using them is up the players.

Assuming you can use both normally, you could arrive (turn 1 like droppods) and choose whether to disembark or not. Should you disembark, you CAN'T assault. For one, you're arriving via deepstrike, which would already prevent you from doing so, but you're also coming from reserve, which also prevents you and assault vehicle also has a restriction. So typically, people stay inside for a turn and THEN you're allowed to disembark and assault because of the assault vehicle rule. The difference from a normal drop pod is that you can safely hide inside for a turn (and that it can take off again later).

The fist of khorne formation is an exception. Unlike a normal kharybdis, this formation allows you override the restrictions and thus disembark AND assault on the turn you arrive, aka turn 1.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




excellent explanation, thank you
   
 
Forum Index » 40K General Discussion
Go to: