Switch Theme:

Can Librarius Conclave be part of other Units/Formations?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ch
Snivelling Workbot




Hi

As the topic suggests can Librarius Conclave be part of other units such as biker squads etc.

Can Librarius Conclave use the Drop pods from Skyhammer Annahilation Force formation? Or can they be attached to a unit that is in a formation?

Thanks
Zalek

Noc Est Forma in Morte 
   
Made in us
Tunneling Trygon






Librarius conclaves can be part of other units yes. They are still independent characters and treated exactly as such. Note that they can NOT be part of other formations though. They may join those units inside formations but do not benefit from their rules. Note that if you have a non-Skyhammer IC attached to the Skyhammer, it can be argued that they lose their "turn 1 or 2 drop" and instead follow drop pod assault. I wouldn't put a librarian with a Skyhammer is the point.


 
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick




USA

 jifel wrote:
Librarius conclaves can be part of other units yes. They are still independent characters and treated exactly as such. Note that they can NOT be part of other formations though. They may join those units inside formations but do not benefit from their rules. Note that if you have a non-Skyhammer IC attached to the Skyhammer, it can be argued that they lose their "turn 1 or 2 drop" and instead follow drop pod assault. I wouldn't put a librarian with a Skyhammer is the point.


Theres no arguing about that topic, the unit lose the formation specials once a external IC joins it PERIOD per GW/ITC/Nova faq
   
Made in us
Tunneling Trygon






 SonsofVulkan wrote:
 jifel wrote:
Librarius conclaves can be part of other units yes. They are still independent characters and treated exactly as such. Note that they can NOT be part of other formations though. They may join those units inside formations but do not benefit from their rules. Note that if you have a non-Skyhammer IC attached to the Skyhammer, it can be argued that they lose their "turn 1 or 2 drop" and instead follow drop pod assault. I wouldn't put a librarian with a Skyhammer is the point.


Theres no arguing about that topic, the unit lose the formation specials once a external IC joins it PERIOD per GW/ITC/Nova faq


Yes, almost any tournament will rule it that way but not everyone uses those FAQs. I personally would agree with you though.


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Though to be fair, the GW FAQ that said no, is also still a first draft, and could (though unlikely) change.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in hk
Steadfast Ultramarine Sergeant




I think this led to MANY more question, for example, if the Librarians arrived in another Droppod But join the Devastors from Skyhammer when landing on ground, do the Devastors immediately loss Relentless?
If a Librarian joined a Tactical Squad from Battle Demi Company formation, does this Squad loss Obsec until the Libby left the Squad?
If an Eldar Autrach Joined a Jetseer Council, do the psykers loss the benefits of manifesting powers on 3+?
If Necron Destroyer Lord Joined Wraiths from Canoptek Harvest, is the Wraiths no longer benefit the RP unitl the Lord left?
If a Juggernaut Lord Joined a Squad of bikers from Gorepack formation, does this unit lost move through cover and HoW is not longer shred?
   
Made in us
Tunneling Trygon






No. This rule only applies to the unit. Models retain their rules, so the Tac squad in a BattleCo retains ObSec. The Devastators in a Skyhammer retain relentless. They don't give it to the Libby though. But, if not every model in the unit has a deployment rule they can't use it, hence reverting back to drop pod assault.


 
   
Made in us
Pious Palatine




 jifel wrote:
No. This rule only applies to the unit. Models retain their rules, so the Tac squad in a BattleCo retains ObSec. The Devastators in a Skyhammer retain relentless. They don't give it to the Libby though. But, if not every model in the unit has a deployment rule they can't use it, hence reverting back to drop pod assault.


This ^ it's not ACTUALLY that that unit LOSES it's rules it's that the IC can't benefit from them. The reason why it seriously f***s with skyhammer vs other formations is because most of skyhammer's benefits are all or nothing.

A skyhammer dev squad DOESN'T lose relentless from just being attached to a libby BUT it also can't choose to come in on turn 1/2 so it's still pretty good but with what you're sacrificing you might as well just bring grav centurions or the cataphractii captain.

A skyhammer assault squad with a libby in it can still technically charge from deepstrike but since the libby CAN'T the UNIT can't.


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




^
   
 
Forum Index » 40K General Discussion
Go to: