Switch Theme:

FAQ Questions - passive benefits from two weapons?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine




I saw on 1d4chan I think, that because of an FAQ change,

"The Solitaire has both the Kiss & Caress in melee and as per the May 2016 FAQ, can gain the benefit of both weapons special rules which apply to "a model equipped with this weapon" therefore he can attack normally with the Caress which auto wounds on AP2 with rolls of a six, while also rolling one separate attack at S6 AP2 with the Kiss."

Is this correct? Does the FAQ allow this -

I think the ruling relates to the Dthrister - i recall people wondering if you had to use the d-weapon or just do smash attacks.

What says you?

9000
8000
Knights / Assassins 800  
   
Made in lu
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought






The faq said that any effects labelled as affecting the bearer are always in effect. Like Goredrinkers buffs are useable with a lightning claw for example and you can charge the tally with the claw too as both refer to the bearer(s melee attacks).

I don't know the rules for kiss & caress, but that sounds like it would be a similar situation.
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

It is a case of being equipped with the Wargear or not.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





Here's the quote from the Draft FAQ:

Q: Do weapon special rules that say ‘a model equipped with this weapon’ or ‘this weapon’s bearer’ take effect even when not used as the attacking weapon?
A: Yes.


So, if the weapon says that the user just has to be equipped with it, such as in the case of the Kiss, then it functions even when not "attacking" with it. In the case of the Solitaire, this means that it still trades one attack in for a Kiss of Death attack, and that all of his attacks are counted as being made with the Caress. Now, we'll see what the Harlequin FAQ ends up stating, but I'm pretty confident that this means that a model that scores a to-hit roll of "6" with a Caress inflicts the 1 wound at AP2, but continues with that being a hit normally (including if it was the Kiss of Death attack).

 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: