Switch Theme:

Can I use formation as detachment slot?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Audacious Atalan Jackal



UK

I want to use Tripartite Lance formation on my imperial knight household detachment..

Can I just count three Lord of war slot and use formation special rule?



 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






With the exception of the Gladius / Decurion / etc. style super-detachments, any model may only belong to a single detachment, and a formation is just a special type of detachment.

So unless the Knight Codex has an exception (I haven't had a chance to read it all the way through yet), no, you can't get both the Formation bonus and the Detachment bonus.
   
Made in nl
Lord of the Fleet






Exactly so. Your three knights are either part of the household detachment or the tripartite formation but not both in the same list.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/06/19 21:29:16


 
   
Made in gb
Audacious Atalan Jackal



UK

Where can I find "exception"?
Three slot required tax for household detachment and another three for formation is too much... I only have five knight not six.. And impossible to fit in small games..

I need that obj-sec on knight plus formation special rule bah :p

I am also look at Blood Angel Archangel strike force formation.. Need to know where to look for a label 'exception'... Don't want to add HQ and 2 Elite for slot required tax... For warlord traits.



 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





Solidcrash wrote:
Where can I find "exception"?
Three slot required tax for household detachment and another three for formation is too much... I only have five knight not six.. And impossible to fit in small games..

I need that obj-sec on knight plus formation special rule bah :p

I am also look at Blood Angel Archangel strike force formation.. Need to know where to look for a label 'exception'... Don't want to add HQ and 2 Elite for slot required tax... For warlord traits.

The only exception are the Decurion style mega detachments because those are a detachment made up of formations. None of those exist for Imperial Knights or Blood Angels
   
Made in ca
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord






Formations don't have "slots". You take exactly what's listed on the card (which sometimes does give you some leeway, like 1-3 of a unit instead of saying 1 of a unit).

This is the only way to benefit from a formation's rules. With VERY FEW EXCEPTIONS (which are only noted in the specific unit's entry) you cannot get Formation's special rules by adding whatever you want to it. Only the units listed in the formation and only when you have all of the required units in a formation can you get the formation's rules.

In addition, once you decide the unit belongs to a formation, they cannot be part of any other detachment or formation (again, with FEW EXCEPTIONS). So if you take 3 Knights as a Household Detachment, the Household Detachment is all the rules you'll get for them. They can't simultaneously be Triparite Lance Formation even if all three knights fulfills the requirement for both formations.

The only Exception to the above is if a specific Detachment specifically mentions that a unit chosen in it can be part of another Formation or Detachment; the ones mentioned by Quanar are all special cases; each one specifically allows it's units to be part of that detachment and another formation. This is because those specific Detachments (nicknamed "Decurion Detachments") use Formations instead of Units in it's slots. Certain formations also give this exception, such as the Living Tide Tyranid Formation, which itself is made up of Specific Formations.

Currently there is no rule, of any kind, that lets a single unit be part of any two random detachments; all exceptions to the "belong to one detachment" rule are very specific to which detachments and formations the units can be part of and is always on a case-by-case basis.

Gwar! wrote:Huh, I had no idea Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines posted on Dakka. Hi Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines!!!!!!!!!!!!! Can I have an Autograph!


Kanluwen wrote:
Hell, I'm not that bothered by the Stormraven. Why? Because, as it stands right now, it's "limited use".When it's shoehorned in to the Codex: Space Marines, then yeah. I'll be irked.


When I'm editing alot, you know I have a gakload of homework to (not) do. 
   
Made in gb
Audacious Atalan Jackal



UK

That explains why there are special rule which repeat for detachment special rule..
Example: The Archangel formation. It already have same special rule as Blood Angel The Archangel Strike Force detachment, but one add on special rule.



 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: