Switch Theme:

Charging A Unit Already Locked In Combat  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block




Alright so me and some buddies were playing a 2v2 type game the other day and eventually one of my opponents (dark angels) charged into a unit of my necron immortals. We both lost like one model i believe and were still locked in combat and during the next turn a different unit of his angels but still the same type of model as the ones locked in combat with me also joined the combat. Was this move legal? I own the rulebook and one of the requirements to charge someone was that they are not already locked in combat. Coulnd't find anything else on the subject in the rulebook other than a disordered charge which didn't apply. I'm assuming its not a dark angel codex rule or something but I was just curious as it seemed like an illegal move. They play warmachine / hordes a lot where multiple units can join one combat so not sure if they were confused or not. Sorry if this is a nooby quest, thank you!
   
Made in us
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine





"Units that are locked in combat cannot move in the Movement phase, Run or shoot in the Shooting phase, and cannot fire Overwatch if charged." BRB 47

So it seems that they can be charged.
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Ok got it, thank you!
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

Your confusion seems to be where it says:

"Some units are disallowed from charging. Common reasons a unit is not allowed to declare a charge include:

• The unit is already locked in close combat."


Reading it closely you'll see the restriction is placed on the charging unit, not the target or unit being charged.

So the unit wanting to declare a charge may not do so if it is already locked in close combat, but it may otherwise charge other units which themselves are already locked in close combat.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/06/21 05:58:15


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: