Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/21 22:43:55
Subject: Can KDK use Curse of the Wulfen Khorne Formations?
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
|
Can Khorne Daemonkin use Curse of the Wulfen Khorne Formations?
The Combined Arms and Allied detachment have restrictions saying that the force can only be one faction, but the Curse of the Wulfen formations doesn't state it.
The Dataslate for Helbrutes day Faction: Chaos Space Marines, and you could interpret that as the chaos symbol at the top of the Dataslate, but those symbols don't have a rule stating that they can only include units from that faction.
I'm inclined to say no, but I can't point to anything substantial.
Any thoughts?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/21 23:01:45
Subject: Re:Can KDK use Curse of the Wulfen Khorne Formations?
|
 |
Brutal Black Orc
|
Being as anal as GW can be I'm inclined to say: no, KDK cannot use those formations, because they aren't daemons of chaos but... KDK. It's pure semantics but them having the chance to take other things aside from daemons as units excludes them from being simply daemons. At least that's how I see it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/21 23:38:37
Subject: Can KDK use Curse of the Wulfen Khorne Formations?
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Aeon wrote:Can Khorne Daemonkin use Curse of the Wulfen Khorne Formations?
The Combined Arms and Allied detachment have restrictions saying that the force can only be one faction, but the Curse of the Wulfen formations doesn't state it.
The Dataslate for Helbrutes day Faction: Chaos Space Marines, and you could interpret that as the chaos symbol at the top of the Dataslate, but those symbols don't have a rule stating that they can only include units from that faction.
I'm inclined to say no, but I can't point to anything substantial.
Any thoughts?
Um... Every Formation since 7th Edition started (with one possible exception) does state the Faction of the list in the same way it states the Faction of the units. This is the same datasheet representation used for unit datasheets.
So, the most way to interpret that would be to use what the datasheet legends generally state. Here is the one from my Necrons legend regarding that symbol: " Faction: The unit’s Faction is shown here by a symbol. All units that have this symbol, which includes all the units described in this book, have the Necrons Faction."
So, a unit listed under this Faction symbol on a Formation will be operating under that Faction's guidelines.
Khorne Daemonkin's Faction symbol does not match the Chaos Marines or Chaos Daemons Faction symbols. So, I can only operate under the designation that Khorne Daemonkin does not operate under the same Faction as Chaos Marines or Chaos Daemons any more than Dark Angels operate under the Codex Space Marines Faction.
It usually doesn't matter in most cases, but I guess if it is important to you to have those Daemonkin quirks, talk with your game organizers (i.e. opponent, club, TO, etc) to see if it would let this condition slide.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/06/21 23:39:25
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/22 02:30:01
Subject: Can KDK use Curse of the Wulfen Khorne Formations?
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
|
However, the formation doesn't restrict it to only models in the daemons faction unlike the allied detachment or combined arms detachment.
There is a part just before the formations in the brb that talks about noting about units with the same name but different factions (CSM and CD Daemon Princes being the example) but I'm not sure what that was in reference to.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/22 02:35:52
Subject: Can KDK use Curse of the Wulfen Khorne Formations?
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Aeon wrote:However, the formation doesn't restrict it to only models in the daemons faction unlike the allied detachment or combined arms detachment. There is a part just before the formations in the brb that talks about noting about units with the same name but different factions ( CSM and CD Daemon Princes being the example) but I'm not sure what that was in reference to.
Except the symbol at the top of the data sheet is what restricts it to only Daemon faction models
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/06/22 02:36:00
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/22 02:53:15
Subject: Can KDK use Curse of the Wulfen Khorne Formations?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Aeon wrote:There is a part just before the formations in the brb that talks about noting about units with the same name but different factions ( CSM and CD Daemon Princes being the example) but I'm not sure what that was in reference to.
As it clearly states, its about units with Army List Entries in more than one codex and the unit's Faction is determined by whichever codex it was chosen from. It has no bearing in this case as the Khorne formations in 'Curse of the Wulfen' are an update for a single codex (Chaos Daemons).
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/22 05:00:02
Subject: Can KDK use Curse of the Wulfen Khorne Formations?
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
|
CrownAxe wrote: Aeon wrote:However, the formation doesn't restrict it to only models in the daemons faction unlike the allied detachment or combined arms detachment.
There is a part just before the formations in the brb that talks about noting about units with the same name but different factions ( CSM and CD Daemon Princes being the example) but I'm not sure what that was in reference to.
Except the symbol at the top of the data sheet is what restricts it to only Daemon faction models
Where does it say the icon restricts it to only that faction?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/22 05:44:57
Subject: Can KDK use Curse of the Wulfen Khorne Formations?
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Aeon wrote:Where does it say the icon restricts it to only that faction?
"Restricts" is probably the wrong way to look at it. "Is pulled from" is the better statement for it. Its not so much that the Formation datasheet is saying "you can't pull from Khorne Daemonkin", but rather, "This Formation is pulling its units from the Faction noted above", just like the datasheet legend I referenced earlier.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/06/22 14:36:02
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/22 09:14:07
Subject: Can KDK use Curse of the Wulfen Khorne Formations?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Especially as KDK daemons hae different rules to Daemons codex.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/24 21:40:56
Subject: Can KDK use Curse of the Wulfen Khorne Formations?
|
 |
Sacrifice to the Dark Gods
Northern New Jersey
|
OK try it and let us know how it goes.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/06/24 21:41:21
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/24 21:50:30
Subject: Can KDK use Curse of the Wulfen Khorne Formations?
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
You realize were talking about if he is even allowed to do this right?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/24 22:20:06
Subject: Re:Can KDK use Curse of the Wulfen Khorne Formations?
|
 |
Grey Knight Purgator firing around corners
Boston, MA
|
So I'm super confused how this is a question, because the first line under the Detachment Rules for "Armies of Unreason";
"The following section details background and rules that describe the forces used by the Chaos Daemons. Used in conjunction with Codex: Chaos Daemons, this section will enable you to forge your collection of Chaos Daemon miniatures..."
It's pretty clear that they are drawn from Codex: Chaos Daemons.
|
0000 - Rest Period - BUT YOU BETTER NOT SPEND FOUR WHOLE HOURS SLEEPING. IF YOU DO YOU ARE NOT ANGRY ENOUGH AND TOMORROW YOU GET THE FIRST CHANCE TO PLAY PIN THE TAU ON THE CARNIFEX. |
|
 |
 |
|