Switch Theme:

Blast weapons hitting multiple units  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




Hi guys,


Sorry if this was already posted but I can't seem to find a similar topic.

I had a game with my mate the other day and we had quite a debate about this.

Lets say we have 2 friendly units next to each other. Your opponent targets unit A with a blast weapon deliberately placing the blast template to clip unit B as well. Can unit B declare actions against this attack as well (jink for example)?

Thanks!
   
Made in us
Omnipotent Necron Overlord






per the FAQ they can.

If we fail to anticipate the unforeseen or expect the unexpected in a universe of infinite possibilities, we may find ourselves at the mercy of anyone or anything that cannot be programmed, categorized or easily referenced.
- Fox Mulder 
   
Made in us
Frothing Warhound of Chaos





Pre FAQ they would not be able to as they were not the unit "targeted". Post FAQ, as mentioned above, they can
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




Clayton-le-moors

 nimodo wrote:
Pre FAQ they would not be able to as they were not the unit "targeted". Post FAQ, as mentioned above, they can


Very true, you can't jink, (etc...) for a unit that was not targeted

All is one and one is to serve the greater good 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Except you can , with the FAQ.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

excidium666 wrote:
Hi guys,


Sorry if this was already posted but I can't seem to find a similar topic.

I had a game with my mate the other day and we had quite a debate about this.

Lets say we have 2 friendly units next to each other. Your opponent targets unit A with a blast weapon deliberately placing the blast template to clip unit B as well. Can unit B declare actions against this attack as well (jink for example)?

Thanks!


Just out of curiosity, did your mate cover as much of target A as possible? Of course if it scatters to hit both units that's different.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Omnipotent Necron Overlord






 Happyjew wrote:
excidium666 wrote:
Hi guys,


Sorry if this was already posted but I can't seem to find a similar topic.

I had a game with my mate the other day and we had quite a debate about this.

Lets say we have 2 friendly units next to each other. Your opponent targets unit A with a blast weapon deliberately placing the blast template to clip unit B as well. Can unit B declare actions against this attack as well (jink for example)?

Thanks!


Just out of curiosity, did your mate cover as much of target A as possible? Of course if it scatters to hit both units that's different.

I think that cover as much of the target as possible has to do with flame templates only.

If we fail to anticipate the unforeseen or expect the unexpected in a universe of infinite possibilities, we may find ourselves at the mercy of anyone or anything that cannot be programmed, categorized or easily referenced.
- Fox Mulder 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 Happyjew wrote:
excidium666 wrote:
Hi guys,


Sorry if this was already posted but I can't seem to find a similar topic.

I had a game with my mate the other day and we had quite a debate about this.

Lets say we have 2 friendly units next to each other. Your opponent targets unit A with a blast weapon deliberately placing the blast template to clip unit B as well. Can unit B declare actions against this attack as well (jink for example)?

Thanks!


Just out of curiosity, did your mate cover as much of target A as possible? Of course if it scatters to hit both units that's different.

That rule only applies to Blast Markers, not (teardrop for flamer style weapons) Templates
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Reverse that nos.

Only the teardrop template must be placed to cover as many models in the target unit as possible.

The blast markers simply require the center hole to be entirely over a model in the target unit(and as I am going off of memory I am not even certain if it is the entire center hole in this edition); so yes, you can use it to "target" multiple units(along with the obvious scattering over several)

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Gah, teach me to post quickly

Yes, its a reverse of what I initiiaky said - only flamer templates have to cover as much as possible
   
Made in us
Omnipotent Necron Overlord






Just out of curiosity how does the template rule interact with torrent? The new FAQ probably has brought this up. Torrent specifies that you chose the starting location for the template and the end has to be farther away from the starting point. So are you allowed to deliberately place torrent in such a way that you hit other squads instead of maximizing on the target squad?

If we fail to anticipate the unforeseen or expect the unexpected in a universe of infinite possibilities, we may find ourselves at the mercy of anyone or anything that cannot be programmed, categorized or easily referenced.
- Fox Mulder 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 Xenomancers wrote:
Just out of curiosity how does the template rule interact with torrent? The new FAQ probably has brought this up. Torrent specifies that you chose the starting location for the template and the end has to be farther away from the starting point. So are you allowed to deliberately place torrent in such a way that you hit other squads instead of maximizing on the target squad?

That's clarified in the first sentence of the Torrent rules:

A weapon with this special rule is treated like any other Template weapon, but...

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Omnipotent Necron Overlord






except you don't chose the starting location for non torrent flamers. My question is does the template ruling force you to chose a location to maximize on your target squad? Or can you chose any location you want and maximize on your target squad from there. I can easily place a template so that it is impossible to hit more than one enemy model in a unit while the starting point of the torrent template is closer to the firing model than the end of it - simply by placing the template on the farthest model away in the unit.

If we fail to anticipate the unforeseen or expect the unexpected in a universe of infinite possibilities, we may find ourselves at the mercy of anyone or anything that cannot be programmed, categorized or easily referenced.
- Fox Mulder 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Again, the Torrent rules tell you how they differ from Template weapons. All of the other Template rules remain in effect.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






 Xenomancers wrote:
except you don't chose the starting location for non torrent flamers.
Except you sort-of do - you are not required to use the closest point on the firing model's base, you can place the template starting at the side of the base if it results in a better hit - an important note for deep-striking units where the direct line to the enemy can be blocked by friendly models.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: