Switch Theme:

A (hopefully) simple timing question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Esteemed Veteran Space Marine







If a pilot ability, such as Dengar's, states you may perform an action after defending, does that action take place before the attack is considered fully resolved? For example, if a TIE Phantom with advanced cloaking fires at Dengar, and the TIE is within Dengar's firing arc, can Dengar shoot back BEFORE the advanced cloaking device allows the Phantom to recloak?
   
Made in us
Colonel





This Is Where the Fish Lives

For Dengar against Whisper with ACD, the effects trigger at the same time so it would come down to who has initiative.

At least that seems to be the general consensus until FFG adds it to the FAQ.

 d-usa wrote:
"When the Internet sends its people, they're not sending their best. They're not sending you. They're not sending you. They're sending posters that have lots of problems, and they're bringing those problems with us. They're bringing strawmen. They're bringing spam. They're trolls. And some, I assume, are good people."
 
   
Made in us
Esteemed Veteran Space Marine







 ScootyPuffJunior wrote:
For Dengar against Whisper with ACD, the effects trigger at the same time so it would come down to who has initiative.

At least that seems to be the general consensus until FFG adds it to the FAQ.


Okay, I guess that's probably the best way to resolve it until something more concrete comes out. The way both are worded, my first instinct was Dengar acts before the ACD triggers, since you complete defense before resolving hits.
   
Made in gb
Battleship Captain




"When defending" is not the same as the 'roll defense dice' step, though - you are the attacker or the defender for the whole of the 'perform attack' step.

This is important because if one of the damage results from the attack was "Blinded Pilot", Dengar would have suffered this critical before getting to shoot (hence he wouldn't get to roll attack dice and would spend his 'free shot' flipping the card face-down).


So you resolve the attack, then fire back (or whatever else you do) immediately after. Which means it's at the same time as the 'free cloak action' and Whisper's free focus token. So (as ScootyPuffJunior said) whilst it's not explicit in the FAQ, the default rule is to apply those actions in initiative order.


Termagants expended for the Hive Mind: ~2835
 
   
 
Forum Index » Atomic Mass Games (Star Wars & Marvel: Crisis Protocol)
Go to: