Switch Theme:

Instrument of Chaos interacting with Bloodied Horde Reserves  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block




The Bloodied Horde states "All units in this Formation must begin the game in Deep Strike Reserve, even if the mission does not normally allow it. When making Reserve Rolls, make a single roll for the entire Formation, which you can choose to re-roll. On a successful Reserves Roll, all of the units in this Formation arrive from Reserve."

Instrument of Chaos states "When a unit with an instrument of Chaos in Deep Strike Reserve successfully passes its Reserve Roll, you can also choose another Unit. This unit must be entirely composed of models with the Daemon special rule, still in Deep Strike Reserve, and yet to make a Reserve Roll this turn. The chosen unit automatically arrives from Reserve (no roll is made)."

Can I use an Instrument to bring in the entire Bloodied Horde?

To clarify, I would be using a unit of Bloodletters with instruments not in the Bloodied Horde formation.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/07/01 16:47:44


   
Made in us
Stealthy Dark Angels Scout with Shotgun



WI

Commenting to be subscribed.

Me? 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





No. The effect don't interact at all. The formation triggers all units coming in on a successful reserve roll. But the Instrument doesn't even roll for reserves you just pick a unit in reserve and deep strike it (it even specifies that it doesn't roll). Since the formation effect has to trigger of a successful roll the instrument will do nothing.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/07/01 16:59:09


 
   
Made in il
Warplord Titan Princeps of Tzeentch






Well, not exactly nothing.

You can use the instrument to deepstrike a unit from the formation despite the fact the formation itself is not deepstriking.

can neither confirm nor deny I lost track of what I've got right now. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: