Switch Theme:

Royal Court and Combined Arms HQ  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




The most interesting formation for the Necrons to me has to be the royal court. I thought the idea of taking an extra HQ was awesome, but while using BattleScribe I have noticed that I may be looking at the formation from the wrong way. My main question is, does the Royal Court count as your HQ when running the formation along a CAD or do I need to also run a 4th HQ with the combined arms detachment. I'm hoping the earlier as I only have 3 HQs at my disposal (being the Overlord, Cryptek, and Lord) and would really hate to be forced out of using the Royal Court for my army.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

A unit can only belong to a single detachment. If you bring a Royal Court formation, the models are part of that, and not a CAD. As such, you still need an HQ for a CAD.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

From 'Detachments' (pg. 118, main rulebook), text is in bold:

However, all of the units in your army must belong to a Detachment and no unit can belong to more than one Detachment.

While you have permission to have certain models in more than one detachment with the Decurion Detachment, you do not have permission for a model to be in both the Decurion Detachment and the Combined Arms Detachment simultaneously.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Englandia

The short answer is yes, you do need a 4th HQ.

You are not required to run a CAD whatsoever, but models may only belong to one detachment. A CAD is a type of detachment, a Formation is another. You can have an unlimited number of them, but (again) a model may only belong to one detachment. The only exception to this that I can think of is a decurion-type detachment, which is a formation made up of other formations.

As a side note; I'm not overly familiar with the Necron Codex, but I believe you can only take [up to] a [single] Royal Court if you also use a Reclamation Legion, which also requires an Overlord. I may be misremembering.

If I sound like I'm being a condescending butthole, I'm not. Read my reply as neutrally as possible, please and thank you. 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 Ond Angel wrote:
The only exception to this that I can think of is a decurion-type detachment, which is a formation made up of other formations.

Formations and units. For example, Deathmarks and Flayed Ones are units that can be taken as an auxiliary choice in a Decurion that are not formations.

 Ond Angel wrote:
As a side note; I'm not overly familiar with the Necron Codex, but I believe you can only take [up to] a [single] Royal Court if you also use a Reclamation Legion, which also requires an Overlord. I may be misremembering.

They may be taken as a standalone Formation alongside of the Decurion. They however will not receive any of the Command Benefits of the Decurion.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Englandia

 Ghaz wrote:
 Ond Angel wrote:
The only exception to this that I can think of is a decurion-type detachment, which is a formation made up of other formations.

Formations and units. For example, Deathmarks and Flayed Ones are units that can be taken as an auxiliary choice in a Decurion that are not formations.

 Ond Angel wrote:
As a side note; I'm not overly familiar with the Necron Codex, but I believe you can only take [up to] a [single] Royal Court if you also use a Reclamation Legion, which also requires an Overlord. I may be misremembering.

They may be taken as a standalone Formation alongside of the Decurion. They however will not receive any of the Command Benefits of the Decurion.


Ah, cheers for the clarification on that.

If I sound like I'm being a condescending butthole, I'm not. Read my reply as neutrally as possible, please and thank you. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: