Switch Theme:

Stormlance Battle Demi Company IC conflict and musical Rhinos  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Hi! So I was playing a great game with my friend today and I was bringing a stormlance battle demi company accompanied by a Librarius conclave. I put my Librarian with the tactical squads and had them running around with the squad and using the formation benefits which are as written (the bits that pertain to the question anyways)

"Units from this formation can move d6 immediately after they shoot in the shooting phase, and may embark on their dedicated transport if all their models end this move within 2' of one of its access points, even if they disembarked in the same turn."

So when I went to make my free move back into my razorback my friend pointed out my librarians were not part of this formation and as such the squad cannot make their free move. I had never thought about that and how it effected the list. I believe he is correct , but wanted to get a confirmation as well as ask a second question. So here come the questions:

1. Does having an IC that is not from the Stormlance battle demi company, but has joined a unit in the stormlance battle demi company negate the squads ability to make their d6 move after shooting?

2. Do vehicles in this formation (Rhinos or Razorbacks) get to make their d6 move after shooting?

#2 is a tricky one I think. The wording is 100% what I wrote above and it simply says "Units from this formation" in regards to who gets the benefit and the vehicles are units. However it then goes on to give the rules for the same units being able to move back inside their transport which is obviously something a vehicle cant do. On one hand it qualifies for the only restriction given in the writing as it is a unit. However the additional information makes it seem like this was meant only for the squads inside the vehicles. However the vehicles moving as well does not seem unfluffy either as it is meant to be a very mobile strike force.


What are your thoughts on the manner?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/07/10 06:07:57


 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






Some snippets from the currently draft FAQ:
(1)
Q: Do rules applying to ‘the unit’, such as those from Formation command benefits (e.g. the Skyhammer Annihilation Force), or unit-wide special rules such as Dunestrider from Codex: Skitarii apply to any attached Independent Characters?
A: No.
Rulebook FAQ, Detachments and Formations
Q: The Skyhammer Annihilation Force. Can Independent Characters join this Formation? If so, do they gain the special abilites bestowed upon the Formation?
A: Independent Characters can join this Formation in the usual way, but they will not gain the special abilites bestowed upon the Formation. This means that if the Independent Character joins an Assault Squad from this Formation, for example, that squad won't be able to use the First the Fire, Then the Blade special rule to charge the turn they arrive.
Codex Space Marines FAQ, page 9
So from this the attached Librarian doesn't get to move, nor embark. Unless countered in a different FAQ, or unless I've missed something, the rest of the unit should still be able to use the rule to move D6", but will not be able to embark (as the entire unit cannot embark).

(2)
Q: Do Wave Serpents taken as Dedicated Transports get +1 Ballistic Skill for being part of the Aspect Host or Dire Avenger Shrine Formations?
A: Yes.
Codex Craftworld Eldar, page 1
This bit is from the Eldar FAQ, and concerns a bonus that is applied to "all units in this Formation", where DT's are not listed as part of Formation but are purchasable by the units that are listed - the FAQ reply proves that the DT's become part of the Formation, and benefit from it's rules.
Also - there are vehicles that can transport other vehicles.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/07/10 07:58:24


 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Miles City, MT

Would this change if the librarius conclave is also part of the detatchment if not the formation? I ask because this could come up with some of the new combinations with Angles of Death. Iron Hands for instance have access to the stormlance (as well as the Skyhammer Annihilation Force). I am thinking no, but I am asking because the faqs are in reference to a formation where you are just adding an IC in an unbound list (near as I can tell).

Twinkle, Twinkle little star.
I ran over your Wave Serpents with my car. 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

It depends on where the bonuses are coming from. If from the Strike Force, then they would have it, and no problem. If from one of the other Formation Choices, they wouldn't have it, so wouldn't be able to benefit from it.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in de
Longtime Dakkanaut






With the FAQ stating that ICs from other formations/detachments do not benefit from formation boni, and the librarius being a distinct formation next to the stromlance, I see no way to make this work.

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: